We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper west side Utopia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's

Isabella's
359 Columbus Ave, at 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-5103 (Manhattan)
212.724.2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #425 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 77th Street
Transit: A, B, C & D trains to 80th Street/Central Park West, and 1 train to 79th Street. M10 bus on Columbus Ave and 77th Street.
Description: A faithful neighborhood favorite, Isabella’s has been an Upper West Side institution for over two decades, a hit with locals and celebrities alike. Isabella’s defines Upper West Side dining with reliable market-fresh offerings for the Mediterranean palate. From birthdays to celebratory brunches, many a memories have been made at Isabella’s and continue unfolding at this “oasis for an unrushed, delicious meal,” according to Zagat. When the weather’s pleasant, grab a sidewalk seat in the café for a classic New York Brunch filled with people-watching, benedicts and Bloody Marys. Indulge your sweet tooth in a Chocolate Bag, a dessert staple that’s been on the menu since opening day!
Astoria, New York
1 review
“Upper west side Utopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dinner was delicious, service impeccable, great ambiance. Highly recommend..would visit again with my husband and familt


Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    171
    40
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location great service good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Visited after after going to the AMNH for lunch. Our server, Shane was great. The food was decent. The prices reasonable for NYC.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, in Upscale location with , average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Isabellas is a nice restaurant with considerable ambiance in a great upscale neighborhood. I would rate the food as just ok, nothing to write home about , great service and a wonderful wine selection. One of our dishes was good but the flatbread pizza was lacking in flavor and crust was too soggy.
Jake our waiter was a very personable and accommodating young man. I would give this place another try but order another dish.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch before Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Great spot to grab lunch before or after you visit to the American Museum of Natural History. Very friendly wait staff. Very good food - try the crab cake sandwich.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We stopped in just because it is a beautiful location. We tried the butternut squash ravioli, steak au poive, and Bronzino. We really enjoyed them all. The highlight was the ravioli. The au poive was a bit mild for me but very tender. Service was quick and friendly, we went with each of her recommendations. I would agree with the other reviews that this seems like a restaurant you can count on.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isabella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.