We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice setting on upper west side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's

Isabella's
359 Columbus Ave, at 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-5103 (Upper West Side)
212.724.2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #442 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 77th Street
Transit: A, B, C & D trains to 80th Street/Central Park West, and 1 train to 79th Street. M10 bus on Columbus Ave and 77th Street.
Description: A faithful neighborhood favorite, Isabella’s has been an Upper West Side institution for over two decades, a hit with locals and celebrities alike. Isabella’s defines Upper West Side dining with reliable market-fresh offerings for the Mediterranean palate. From birthdays to celebratory brunches, many a memories have been made at Isabella’s and continue unfolding at this “oasis for an unrushed, delicious meal,” according to Zagat. When the weather’s pleasant, grab a sidewalk seat in the café for a classic New York Brunch filled with people-watching, benedicts and Bloody Marys. Indulge your sweet tooth in a Chocolate Bag, a dessert staple that’s been on the menu since opening day!
Connecticut
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great food, nice setting on upper west side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great value & food on NYC upper west side. Eat indoors or outside at sidewalk tables. Very attentive to gluten free diet....food comes out with labels on the plates to be sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    188
    48
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
745 reviews 745 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Isabella may be hit or miss today was a hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Isabella is very close to the American Museum of Natural History and also to Shake Shack (one location). It has attractive outdoor seating. It has one of the smallest bathrooms ( with the smallest sink I've ever seen ). There is also seating just inside the outdoor seating-which may be the best of both worlds.

Last summer we ate there for dinner before Shakespeare in the Park and it tasted like bad banquet food- for a lot of money. Today, lunch was more enjoyable and more reasonable. I had the egg whtie omelet on the menu which came with generous vetgetatbles and choice of salad or fries.

Nonetheless, do not leave NY without eating at one location of Shake Shack. The burgers are that good. And, if you're in that museum, the food there is good. The NY Historical Society is also close but not a must to visit-have not eaten there yet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality and service. Recently had terrible food, felt like I was in a fast food restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've been to Isabella's many times over many years when visiting NYC--sometimes it's good and sometimes it is absolutely terrible. Most recently, this past Saturday, my two sisters (who live in NYC) and I decided to give it one more chance and we went there for dinner. It was the worst I've experienced yet. I felt like I was in a fast food restaurant rather than an expensive restaurant. It was obvious they were trying to get us out as quickly as possible. Staff was rude and aloof. Main dishes were cold and of poor quality and came out within minutes of sitting down and ordering, before we could enjoy our drink and before we could finish our salad. The person who served our food roughly dropped the plates on the table, ignored anything we tried to say, and rushed off. We have no intentions of returning to Isabella's and I would not recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Upper West Side Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had an early Sunset dinner with friends. Salads were fresh and delicious. Service was attentive and friendly. Location is great and outdoor seating is available. They also have a terrific Sunday brunch. Always a great meal at Isabella's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch, fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just around the corner from Central Park and The Natural History Museum. We had a fabulous brunch. Unfortunately couldn't sit out on the terrace due to road works but not the restaurants fault.
Food and service was fabulous. Our 2 year old loved the freshly made strawberry lemonade and was given crayons and paper to draw with. The facilities were nice and clean - only moan was that there was only 1 bathroom - typically Amerian but we are English!
Overall very tasty and would definately return and recommend! Gutted we didn't have time to taste the evening meals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isabella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.