We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's best cream puff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beard Papa Sweets Cafe

Beard Papa Sweets Cafe
2167 Broadway, New York City, NY 10024-6603 (Upper West Side)
(212) 799-3770
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 195 Dessert in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakeries
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“World's best cream puff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a small shop tucked away on the upper west side. We enjoyed cream puffs and hot chocolate every day! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy - wish we had in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We love cream puffs and they are especially good at this location, as everything is super fresh. The choux pastry is delicately crunchy and the cream inside is the perfect sweetness. I had the Dulce de Luce cream puff this time and the caramel was heavenly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“AMAZING cream puffs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I know most folks don't go out of their way for a cream puff, but on my most recent trip, I thought, what the hell, it's been years since I've had a cream puff, so I'll go for it. Wow, I must say, this was the finest cream puff I've ever had and I had some great puffs as a kid in NYC. They don't put the filling in until you order it and you watch them stuff your puff - so to speak. The outer pastry is perfectly baked, which is hard to do on a cream puff. I wish I had ordered a dozen to take back home in GA. This place will definately be my "must stop by" when I go back to NYC.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I Long For These Cream Puffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The puffs are crispy and the custard smooth when they are fresh. There are custard flavors of the day to choose from but I always go back to the vanilla custard. Regular creampuffs seem bland after tasting the Beard Papa puffs. I sat down and ate one with a cup of coffee and took one to go. I would like to have taken a dozen to go but these puffs will get soggy over time so you really can't store them and savor them over time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“LOVE BEARD PAPA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

These are the best cream puffs I have ever had in my whole life. They're filled with a cold, creamy custard right when you order them so the puff pastry will not go soggy. For $2 a piece, they're a deal! I'm going to miss these cream puffs until my next visit to NYC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beard Papa Sweets Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Beard Papa Sweets Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beard Papa Sweets Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.