We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Awash

Awash
947 Amsterdam Ave, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10025-8359 (Manhattan)
212-961-1416
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,460 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Trivandrum
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good place with awesome food... never had ethiopian before hand and must say, it was spicy by indian standards too! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Service is EXTREMELY fast and waiters are helpful with the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Great neighborhood restaurant with cozy atmosphere and delicious food. I had the vegetarian lunch and I was happy with the selection and the choices I made. Yummy bread!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic. Delicious. Friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Awash is the place to go for authentic, fabulous Ethiopian food in manhattan. The servers are kind and helpful and the food is tremendous. We got the vegetarian combo for two and it was plenty of food and great variety. We will be coming back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All the best of "cheap and ethnic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. The staff are friendly and always helpful.
Excellent options for meat eaters and vegetarians. The large platters to share are great value and let you sample multiple dishes. Some of the food is quite spicy but there are plenty of more mildly seasoned foods. They bring as much injera (bread) as you want. A great meal for less than $20 per person.
I have been to the one on the Upper West Side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Get the lentils in Berbere. Trust me. :)

Every dish I've tried here (which is all the vegetarian and chicken options--it's my go-to spot) is wonderful, and the bread--which they bring by more of if they see you're running out--is as good here as at any other Ethiopian place I've been to. Single-person portions are very generous, but the platter to split among a group is the perfect amount of food. The honey wine is a must (if you don't mind sweet wine, of course!).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awash also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Awash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.