We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasha

Pasha
70 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)
212-579-8751
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pasha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,418 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Columbus
Transit: 1,2,3,C,B trains
Description: With its deep red walls and skylight dining room, Pasha is one of the best Turkish restaurants in North America. Anyone who wants to take a "magical carpet ride" to Istanbul in a very elegant and comfortable ambience and warm and friendly service should visit Pasha.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Surprising restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Made reservations to be near the Lincoln Center for a show. Was surprised when we walked in that the restaurant goes from kinda dark and small to spacious and light in another room.
The place was very crowded but our service was excellent. My son and I both enjoyed the special that included appetizer, entree, dessert and coffee for a very reasonable price (I think it was about $27 per person). The food was good - and very plentiful. My appetizer, a fried phyllo "cigar" with feta, came with 4 pieces. My son's cannellini bean appetizer was easily big enough to share. My baklava had sweet honey on the bottom - and 4 pieces that I wouldn't share! We both got a chicken dish stuffed with rice, pistachios, and currants with tarragon sauce

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    15
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small Plate options for a large party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Have you ever wanted to taste everything? Well, at this upper west side location, you can come close to that without cleaning out your bank account! Everything our group had was fresh, flavorful, and shareable! We especially enjoyed the stuffed chicken breast, and the salads. The hummus is authentic and pairs well with the delicious bread. The atmosphere adds a special addition to your experience, and let's not forget the availability of wonderful cocktail and desserts. The baklava is one the best ever! Try it if you are in the New York area and want to see a "neighborhood " in the big city

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Turkish food I have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Wonderful, friendly service - lots of pride evident in the excellent food. Great grape leaves, excellent appetizers. The service and atmosphere couldn't be better!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“PRETTY PLACE AND GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went for brunch, and just had a great meal. The calimari was cooked perfectly and served in a cold yogurt based sauce with garlic and walnut..the eggplant appetizer also good, and the manti dumplings, while not special were certainly adequate.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Just great delicious Turkish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Reasonable pre fixe, very gracious wait staff, pleasant atmosphere... most enjoyable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasha also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.