We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Jane!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jane

Jane
100 W Houston St, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 254-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,271 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between Thompson Street and La Guardia Place
Transit: 1, 2 to Houston B, D, F, M, 6 to Broadway/Lafayette A, C, E to Spring Street or West 4th Street.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love Jane!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We usually visit NYC once or twice a year, and Jane has become our traditional Sunday morning brunch stop before heading home. Food and service are always wonderful, the menu has both standbys and interesting alternatives, the complimentary bread is outstanding. You can make a reservation, and there is always free parking right out front. Located in the West Village, which makes for a nice stroll before getting on the road. Close to the Holland tunnel for an easy exit from the city. We love Jane!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    108
    37
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, sub-par service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I still talk about the food and compare all french toast to the ones here! Only complaint is that we had reservations and they still made us wait for seating because we had my son with us. If the food wasn't so good, I might not go back for their rudeness about kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The French Toast was awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sunday brunch is still alive!
Saw some great reviews for this restaurant. Heard it got busy early so we made a reservation. Before 11am seemed to be the best time to get in. It quickly filled up after that. The server was efficient and super nice. Although it was busy should took the time to explain the menu. We had the French toast and the Jane Benedict. The French toast was incredible. A nice balance of sweet, but not overpowering. The Benedict was perfect. All in all a very enjoyable experience. Price was reasonable for NYC. We would happily come back here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wanted to give 4.5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

………………….and that is only due to lack of ambience – but it was 12 lunch time !
We went for lunch for my husbands 60th – surprise guests were waiting (sister & husband).
The restaurant was very clean and well decorated. Staff attentive. Cocktails were great – even at 12 noon. Food was fabulous – chips ( fries? ) to die for – and I’m not a chip person. Yes defo recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner was Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

An outstanding dinner, superb food, excellent service. Our group of 8 dined downstairs, so we didn't experience any crowding. Seated on time for a 7:30 on Saturday night. So didn't experience any of the issues previous posters mentioned. (And what's with the 'brunch' thing? People still do that??)
Anyway, we had steaks, salads, fish, pork chop, and everyone was happy. I had a salad with sliced steak that was absolutely in the top 3 salads ever. I tend to run more to steak than salad, and the steak was buttery delicious, perfectly cooked, just delicious. Everything had lots and lots of fresh flavor. Drinks got great reviews, too. Appetizers were great and desserts, esp. the Toasted Almond and the Donuts in a Jar were incredible. Food quality was on par with some of the best places in the city. Oh, and prices were not astronomical.
Our server was a college kid who looked like he was 12 years old, but he covered us beautifully, didn't hover, didn't disappear. He was backed up in the downstairs dining room by another great server and a capable hostess. We waited for nothing, but weren't bothered.
So folks, stop cramming in here for a clearly-too-busy brunch and come for dinner. You'll have an outstandingly-prepared meal and really nice service.
As for brunch, the 80's called; they want their pretentious mid-Sunday afternoon meal back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.