We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite brunch/lunch spot in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubby's

Bubby's
120 Hudson St, New York City, NY 10013-2317 (Manhattan)
(212) 219-0666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Dessert, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite brunch/lunch spot in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bubby's was fantastic. The service was very good, the staff friendly and knowledgeable. Absolutely gorgeous decor, really was my fav!!

Great location, right in the midst of the great shopping area of NYC - Soho/Tribeca. Apparently quite star studded for brunch on the weekends but gets PACKED so make sure you make a reservation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    200
    56
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely pastries, yummy breakfast place.
Went with the family, good service, great food.
Will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The perfect little place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere on arrival was very inviting. The decor was so charming. We ordered a bunch of dishes to share amongst 5 people and the biggest hit were the chicken tacos ($16 for 2), they were delicious. The homemade ginger beer ($5) was absolutely divine, the best ginger beer I have tasted and finishing off with a slice of peanut butter and chocolate pie ($8) made the evening perfect. The prices are a little expensive but it's worth it. I want to go back over and over again. The best place I've eaten at in New York City. Thank you Bubby's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Homeade and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our second visit to Bubby's this year - almost everything is made from scratch, in house, with as many local ingredients as possible. Other than the cupcakes, which like so many high end bakeries and cupcake shops don't taste as good as what Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker can give you in 30 minutes at home, we didn't have anything that wasn't excellent. The biscuits are a must to start, and the fried chicken is the absolute best we have ever had. They said the french fries were voted best in NYC, and while there were good handcut fries, they weren't anything to write home about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best breakfast in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Got the impression that this is where the New Yorker's come. More than one 'local' told us that this was the 'best place for breakfast in town'! Portions are enormous and it's not particularly cheap but the food is extremely good.

Everything is very fresh. They apparently farm their own pigs upstate and their sour-dough has been alive since the 19th century! My particular favourite was the sour-cream pancakes with scrambled eggs but we went there 3 days running and nothing disappointed from the home-made cola to the huevos rancheros!!

If you enjoy breakfast and enjoy good food then you cannot miss this place. Once you've been, you'll breakfast there every-day.

Very very busy at weekends and holidays but as a two we never waited more than 15 minutes. On a weekday after the early rush you'll walk right in. You can always sit at the bar for a drink / juice whilst you wait for your table.

ENJOY

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubby's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bubby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.