We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny place with a spicy punch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Faro
823 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)
(212) 929-8210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,815 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Stowe, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Tiny place with a spicy punch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Literally a spicy "punch!" If you like Sangria, they make it with rum and triple sec. It will make your head spin. I had shrimp in a green sauce served with saffron rice, and my husband had paella. The food was tasty, the seafood fresh, although the mundane-included salad was drenched in a too-tangy dressing. There are 10-12 tables in the main dining room, and the place shows its age and is fairly drab, but it is part of the charm. My husband liked his meal so much he returned two nights later with business colleagues.

Tip: the meals are very large. My husband and I could have easily split his paella or my shrimp dish.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As if you were invited to the home of the owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place has been in business since the 1920s, and still looks like it from the drab, dated decor. But that's part of the experience. Delicious, traditional "home style" Spanish specialties in generous portions. Fast preparation, accommodating service, and overall, quite tasty. Loved the salad dressing. We arrived about 6 pm and by 7, the place was packed — and it's a tight environment to maneuver. But we'd go back and try a new selection of items on the menu. We especially like the paella and the chicken in almond sauce.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
1 review
“As authentic as it gets.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Having visited Spain many times in the past, to often Spanish-themed restaurants here in the US cater more to 'quantity' rather than quality in recreating old Spanish classics. However El Faro is unique in the fact that it provides the real Spanish tapas experience. Although the portions are not big, the tastes are huge and I would suggest at trying as many different things as you can with your group. The Sangria and Paella are the stand-out items. Restaurant is well worth a visit, don't go expecting flash interiors or loads of comfort, but do go expecting great food and an 'off-the-beaten' path experience that won't be matched anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tired food, drab and dreary. The magic is gone.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have been going to El Faro for 40 years - but the last visit was disappointing. The food was tasteless - partly from being over cooked and the taste - which once was dazzling - was bland. The service was slow, disengaged and made the evening even less pleasant. This was a place where the Paella was to die for. So too were the shrimp in both the green and white sauce. Sadly - no longer.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
“Thank God for no changes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

There are few restaurants that you really love and enjoy that stay exactly like you remember them . Even after 45 years. I was a boy of 17on my first visit with friends. I felt like i found a hidden secret in NY. The food and atmosphere are very quaint. The place is small and rustic and Thank god they havent changed in the 45 byears ive been going there! Its nice to know you still have the same place to go to when in this hectic world so many favorites come and go so frequently! As a boy i remember idiscovering a wine called Sangria served in a glass beer pitcher that didnt exist anywhere else yet. we used to sneak in bottles with corks and fill them to take home. The salad dressing is even unique. Try this place and see for yourself you wont be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Faro also viewed

 

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.