We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh vegies and big quantities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dojo West

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dojo West
14 W 4th St, New York City, NY 10012-1104
(212) 505-8934
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,795 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh vegies and big quantities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had lunch today at Dojo. Started with the Miso soup which was filled with large chunks of Tofu and veggies, it was delicious! I then had the California salad with grilled shrimp which was filled with large quantities of fresh veggies, avocado and shrimp. I would recommend both of these dishes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego and New York City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New York Staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The first Dojo restaurant I remember was on St. Mark's Place. It was cramped, always crowded, tasty and cheap. Not too much has changed since closing the east side location and moving into the larger west side location that used to be a Swensen's Ice Cream Parlor (think that was the brand.)

The menu is still pretty much the same with a really good selection of vegetarian options and wide variety of food and styles in general.

I love the Soy Burgers, Hijiki Burgers, Steamed Veggies and pretty much anything you can eat with their Carrot Ginger Dressing. The salads are good and I understand the other dishes are quite tasty as well. The prices are unbeatable - e.g., The Soy Burger Dinner which is the burger, Brown Rice and Salad for under $6.

The place does get noisy and crowded as its in the middle of NYU and the Village in general but if you go off-peak its not bad and you can almost always get a table as the space accommodates lots of diners.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Healthy, quick service and budget friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've missed having lunch here for the past 15 years. Still the same wonderful healthy food. Very budget friendly. Now I take my daughter here. Worth the extra trip. Still love the hijiki tofu dinner and the cold sesame noodles. They make a wonderful salad dressing. Bought two containers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in NY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled on DoHo when we were wandering around Greenich Village. Not remarkable from the outside but warm and congenial inside. I had a curried lamb stew and my husband had steak and eggs. Both were wonderful and amazingly, came with two free beverages each. Our total bill came to less than $25--a minor miracle in NYC!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Bar! Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just as good as the St. Mark's location. Great food across the board. Even their milk shakes rule. I love to just get a burger and people watch.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dojo West also viewed

 

Been to Dojo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dojo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.