We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fats, fresh and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Republic

Republic
37 Union Sq W, New York City, NY 10003-3217 (Flatiron District)
+1 212-627-7172
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #435 of 11,059 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Republic offers up a unique fusion of Asian cuisines using the freshest ingredients, the most savory spices, and creativity! Think noodles, think Republic! We focus on serving you healthy, nutritious, and affordable dishes that you won't soon forget. Our team believes in natural foods and the freshest, highest quality ingredients. Whether you're enjoying our Curry Vegetable broth noodles, our Grilled Chicken with Pesto and rice, or our take on the Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwiches, you can be sure that you'll enjoy an incredible dish made with only the best vegetables, noodles, and spices available. We even invite you to watch Republic chefs prepare your food in our open kitchen! They'll be using cooking methods from Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, Japan, and China to prepare you a delicious dish. And what would a great meal be without the perfect beverage to drink alongside it? Pair your meal with sake, beer, wine, or even one of our seasonal signature cocktails! Whether you're joining us for lunch, dinner, or drinks, you'll love our innovative and inexpensive Asian fusion at Republic!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fats, fresh and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant a few times. All the meals I ordered were of good quality.....hard to get a table and the place is quite noisy...but the wait staff are friendly and helpful...the crispy tofu is very nice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasteful at fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Looking for something different than american or tex-mex food we tried this medium-size restaurant at Union Square and it was really a good choice. Even if it might be crowded it is easy to find a place in one of their long tables. Yes, maybe you have to share the table, but it can be a chance to meet interesting people. We were indeed a bit afraid to get the usual low-standard chinese food we're used to in Italy, but here it is a completely different music! They serve food from all over the far east and their noodles are fantastic. It's one of our "to-do-again" should we go again in the big apple

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italia1971luca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food in restaurant filled with smoke and good music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Tasty dishes in very energetic space, seated immediately, service was excellent, great music, maybe a DJ but didn't see one. everything we ordered was good. Steamed Veg dumplings were really good. One bad, which was big, apparently, their exhaust vents stopped working, so the whole place filled with smoke, and they opened the front doors to clear the air but it was about 91 degrees outside, so it got a lot warmer inside. Would give the place another shot based on food and service.

Helpful?
Thank skutr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Add a star if you like noodles ( and Thai) delete one if you don't.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had yummy Pad Thai. It was good. Nothing to write home or Trip Advisor about, but it was good. They were unable to substitute Tofu into my order. Or any order apparently. The basil lime beverage was a fresh new taste. Others at our table had the soup dumplings ( which were small but tasty) and the salmon. Big place right in Union Square. We didn't have trouble getting a table for four on a Sunday afternoon on Memorial Day. Loud 80's music was playing. I liked it but it was hard to talk and hear.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food & reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whenever I visit New York, I always come and eat at this restaurant. Food is really tasty, fried rice and grilled pork chop over rice are my favorite. My hubby got the spicy beef noodles and he loved it! The coconut pineapple drink was equally great! Service was excellent. My only issue with this place is that it is incredibly loud! Not sure why its management has not resolved it, but I'm sure some customers have complained. I cannot even have a conversation with my hubby. It is not the music that's loud, but people talking, since it is usually crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrieClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing