We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fats, fresh and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Republic

Republic
37 Union Sq W, New York City, NY 10003-3217 (Manhattan)
+1 212-627-7172
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,354 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Noodle Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: Republic offers up a unique fusion of Asian cuisines using the freshest ingredients, the most savory spices, and creativity! Think noodles, think Republic! We focus on serving you healthy, nutritious, and affordable dishes that you won't soon forget. Our team believes in natural foods and the freshest, highest quality ingredients. Whether you're enjoying our Curry Vegetable broth noodles, our Grilled Chicken with Pesto and rice, or our take on the Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwiches, you can be sure that you'll enjoy an incredible dish made with only the best vegetables, noodles, and spices available. We even invite you to watch Republic chefs prepare your food in our open kitchen! They'll be using cooking methods from Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, Japan, and China to prepare you a delicious dish. And what would a great meal be without the perfect beverage to drink alongside it? Pair your meal with sake, beer, wine, or even one of our seasonal signature cocktails! Whether you're joining us for lunch, dinner, or drinks, you'll love our innovative and inexpensive Asian fusion at Republic!
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fats, fresh and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant a few times. All the meals I ordered were of good quality.....hard to get a table and the place is quite noisy...but the wait staff are friendly and helpful...the crispy tofu is very nice

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    88
    56
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasteful at fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Looking for something different than american or tex-mex food we tried this medium-size restaurant at Union Square and it was really a good choice. Even if it might be crowded it is easy to find a place in one of their long tables. Yes, maybe you have to share the table, but it can be a chance to meet interesting people. We were indeed a bit afraid to get the usual low-standard chinese food we're used to in Italy, but here it is a completely different music! They serve food from all over the far east and their noodles are fantastic. It's one of our "to-do-again" should we go again in the big apple

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food in restaurant filled with smoke and good music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Tasty dishes in very energetic space, seated immediately, service was excellent, great music, maybe a DJ but didn't see one. everything we ordered was good. Steamed Veg dumplings were really good. One bad, which was big, apparently, their exhaust vents stopped working, so the whole place filled with smoke, and they opened the front doors to clear the air but it was about 91 degrees outside, so it got a lot warmer inside. Would give the place another shot based on food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Add a star if you like noodles ( and Thai) delete one if you don't.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had yummy Pad Thai. It was good. Nothing to write home or Trip Advisor about, but it was good. They were unable to substitute Tofu into my order. Or any order apparently. The basil lime beverage was a fresh new taste. Others at our table had the soup dumplings ( which were small but tasty) and the salmon. Big place right in Union Square. We didn't have trouble getting a table for four on a Sunday afternoon on Memorial Day. Loud 80's music was playing. I liked it but it was hard to talk and hear.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food & reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whenever I visit New York, I always come and eat at this restaurant. Food is really tasty, fried rice and grilled pork chop over rice are my favorite. My hubby got the spicy beef noodles and he loved it! The coconut pineapple drink was equally great! Service was excellent. My only issue with this place is that it is incredibly loud! Not sure why its management has not resolved it, but I'm sure some customers have complained. I cannot even have a conversation with my hubby. It is not the music that's loud, but people talking, since it is usually crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.