We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupa

Lupa
170 Thompson St, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 982-5089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lupa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #760 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between Houston and Bleecker Streets
Transit: B,D,F,V or A,C,E to West 4th St. 6 to Bleecker St. 1 to Houston St. R or W to Prince St.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My parents and I came here about a week ago and I must say that it was one of the best itilan meals that we have ever had.The Ricotta Gnocchi was the best Gnocchi I have found and the us and I would never hesitate to get it there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    148
    55
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is another of Mario Batali's restaurants where you definitely need reservations to get in. It is not as posh as Babbo, but we enjoyed the more casual atmosphere. The meat and fish entrees were very good, but the pastas really shine here. Don't miss the caramel gelato if it's on the menu. My husband and I shared each of the courses - salad, pasta and carne, as well as dessert. This allows us to taste more without being overstuffed. We also liked the small wine carafes that hold about a glass and a half where we could taste differerent varieties.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
522 reviews 522 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“It was good/ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We hit this place for a late lunch.
I was told it was nearly impossible to get in at night.
The waitress I can only assume does not work evenings.
Not very pleasant.
Didn't like that when we didn't order appetizers or drinks.
The pasta dishes are very small portions but..
my carbonara was excellent.
The food is good.
I might consider coming back because my pasta was so good but in the evening to see if the staff is different.
This is a thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great local neighbourhood find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd night choice on a 3 day girlfriend weekend in NY. We really enjoyed our time here, the atmosphere was of a local neighbourhood restaurant, a smaller more intimate choice as opposed to one of the larger NY restaurants. It's not a stuffy fine dining atmosphere but a friendly, fun, and upscale casual atmosphere. All of us enjoyed our food, value is awesome. We met some friendly people at the bar before dinner ....
Overall we loved our night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the most glorious lunch at Lupa. Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. The wait staff was just like you would like them to be. Attentive, but not in your face. The space was fun and comfortable. Will definitely return when we're back in the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupa also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.