We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
403 West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
(212) 675-2322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spice Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #316 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Tapas, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A,C,E,L train to 8th Avenue
Description: Highlighted in the national and local press, Spice Market, on the corner of 9th Avenue, is inspired by the street food that Jean-Georges Vongerichten enjoyed while traveling in Asia. Authentically uplifted versions of flavourful street foods are served family-style, with dishes arriving continuously throughout the meal for all to share. Spice Market also offers corporate and social dining for large groups in the restaurant, lounge, and intimate, semi-private alcove rooms.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Sexy Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spice Market is a gorgeous, sensual restaurant...I dare say one of the prettiest in NYC. The crowd is also very pretty, well dressed, and hip.
The restaurant is on two levels and is designed in a Pan Asian concept. Lots of dark carved wood, teak floors, raw timber beams, candles, lanterns, embroidered curtains, antiques, screens, custom colonial white leather furniture, and ambient music... all create a very sexy and sensual ambience. It all rather feels like an ancient temple and could be used as a movie set...stunningly beautiful.
It was Sunday night and we had reservations for 3 at 10pm. We arrived a little late and were asked to wait about 5 minutes which we did whilst enjoying a wonderfully refreshing Cucumber Chill Cocktail (Dill Infused Belvedere Vodka, Cucumber, Lemon) at the beautiful bar. We were sat at our snug, cozy table with 2 chairs and a booth. Our 2 candles on the table were not lit but this was quickly taken care of by the staff. We were greeted by a nice man in the orange waiter/waitress outfits they wear at Spice Market. Another man brought us hot towels to wash our hands..a nice touch. Reading our menus was a bit of a challenge...it is quite dark even with the two candles and the hidden wall light behind a wooden carving at our table but we finally manged it with the help of a lighter.
For appetziers we had the Black Pepper Shrimp with Sun Dried Pineapple...very good! and the Mushroom Egg Rolls with Galangal Emulsion...the best egg rolls I have ever had! For entrees I had the Steamed Red Snapper in Tomato Lemongrass Broth...one of the most tender pieces of fish I have ever had...delicious dish. My partner had the Pearl Noodles with Smoked Tofu
Black Bean Sauce also very good and savory. Our friend had wonderfuly tender, tasty, and fragrant Grilled Chicken Satay with spicy peanut sauce. All of this we washed down with some nice glasses of wine from the extensive list. We skipped the desserts that looked very tantalizing and opted instead for glasses of Port. We lingered for a while sipping our Ports, having fun conversation, and enjoying the ambience of Spice Market.
This place is a treat and a must come to in NYC....one of the most sexy and ambient rich restaurants I have ever visited. Cannot wait to come back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403SpiceMarket, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Market, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Atlas1175
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your Spice Market experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed the food, the wine, the cocktails, the service and the ambience that we have to offer. There are so many different flavors, and we are glad that you enjoyed all of them! We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    720
    237
    94
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disrespectful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Despite some dud pairings with tasting menu food was good and service ok but entire meal was spoilt by vile manager who clearly felt that a woman's place is in the home probably licking his boots.

If you like mysogenistic men being totally rude and disrespectful go otherwise as a woman I would say anywhere else a better choice

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403SpiceMarket, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Market, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Melissa J
Thank you for your feedback following your dinner at Spice Market. As I would like to investigate the matter further, may I kindly ask you to send an e-mail to mburgstaller@ny.spicemarketllc.com with the details of your dinner (date, time, reservation name if applicable). I will then personally follow up on the incident and inform you of the outcomes of my investigation.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“As always - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spice Market is one of our favourite stops in NYC. This time we were able to sample the Restaurant Week menu. We each chose different offerings so we had a great tasting menu! The only glitch on this visit was the wait for one of the apps; the food itself was fresh, vibrant and beautifully presented. The avocado lime sorbet was incredible! Service was flawless and attentive without being intrusive.
We had a table upstairs near the open, breezy windows - very pleasant. The one comment I would have is that the restaurant is generally quite dark.
I heartily recommend Spice Market - waiting for the next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403SpiceMarket, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Market, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Jane P
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your Spice Market experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu and that you were able to taste the different options we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you for recommending Spice Market.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spice Market well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Family dinner. Very cool restaurant. Decor is excellent, welcoming staff and extremely good waiter service. The food was excellent, the black pepper shrimp with sun dried pineapple is to die for. Would certainly go back. Not cheap but if you want a quality meal in a cool setting then this is the place to go to.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403SpiceMarket, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Market, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Scandicsaint
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Spice Market. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the welcoming staff, the service, the décor, and the pepper shrimp! We look forward to you dining with us again very soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Asia fusion restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent starters, great atmosphere and super friendly staff. Recommend asian Malaysian chicken curry

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403SpiceMarket, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Market, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Ravi A
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your Spice Market experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the service, atmosphere, and that you enjoyed the chicken curry! We look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

 

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.