We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short, sweet, and AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Risotteria

Risotteria
270 Bleecker St, New York City, NY 10014-4101 (Manhattan)
212-924-6664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
north carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Short, sweet, and AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Salads, risotto, breadsticks and service were outstanding. Yes, it is cramped, but so worth it. I will be back on my next visit to the west village.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    142
    65
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you love your Risotto just right, go there at lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to go for great risotto. Over 20 different varieties and so fresh. The parmesan cheese they use was quite sharp, unlike -a lot of other soap-like pretenders. I went there at lunch and so glad I did as I tried to go there for dinner but could not get a place. It is small but for travelers like me, it gave me a chance to talk with the locals. (Which is want you want to do on holidays, right?) There is a good wine list and wines are available by the glass. Prices for the risotto ranged from $14 to $20 but very good value. Definitely go there, but go there at lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quick, fresh, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Risotteria is tiny - about 28 covers, and there is enormous demand for tables, so don't go if you're expecting a leisurely lunch. It's quick, not too expensive, fresh and very good. Some other reviewers have complained that there were 3 sat to a table for 2, which was also our experience, but you know this is the case when you go in, so nothing really to complain about - in fact, it was great fun and very sociable to be able to chat to the people either side of our table. Yes, small, cramped, and quick, but this is very obvious when you go in. For a great, quick lunch that couldn't be further from 'fast food' joints in quality, service and atmosphere, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novelty OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Go To!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The restaurant is small so the seating is a bit tight. No reservations are taken so there is often a wait! And! It is worth it. I go for the gluten-free environment but my guests who do not require gluten-free have all loved it equally as well. There are options for traditional pizza and panini style sandwiches to accommodate the picky traditional diet. The name sake plates, the Risottos, are equally incredible as are the salads. So many toppings and add ons to choose from - a taste spectacular!! Don't miss the meatballs and the breadsticks for dipping! Wonder of all wonders - you can have it all with a cold beer - and there are options for that too! Heaven!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for gluten free diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The breadsticks are to die for. The pizza was awesome and quite a treat for those of us who are gluten free! Two challenges: Not a lot of seating capacity so plan on waiting a while which can be problematic when it's cold outside. There are probably 20 tables in entire restaurant and they have to literally move the table so that you can get into your seat. Second challenge was the price. $8 for a bottle of beer seemed a little high. Watch the drink prices to keep the check total down. Food worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Risotteria also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Risotteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Risotteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.