We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzy French restaurant in soho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
80 Spring St, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)
(212) 965-1414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buzzy French restaurant in soho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Authentically French. Huge room, absolutely packed. Fun vibe. Fabulous shellfish. All food was great. Service didn't start well when greeter was mid sentence then turned away to fawn over some celebrity, but after that all was perfect! Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,422
    995
    306
    81
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great place if you can get a table. It is crowded and loud. Waiters, busboys and other customers often bang into your chair. Service was very good but impersonal as it is so busy. The food is excellent and all the dishes look really good. We had fabulous fish dishes (plat du jour - sole $37) that were delicious but on the pricey side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a delight! I sat at the bar for lunch for one. Great service offered by an attentive server who knew her wines...always a bonus. I felt transported to Paris but that NYC vibe was still evident. It was incredibly busy but while that made it noisy, service was still very professional and my delicious lunch arrived promptly. If you like beets then don't miss the Beet Salad with goats cheese and hazelnuts, delicious! It's not a cheap meal but I was ready for some delicious, well conceived and beautifully presented food as I am getting a bit tired of the NYC slap a mountain of food on a plate style. Definitely would recommend Balthazar and I know I will dine there again...maybe tomorrow!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have meet a business associate here a few times over about a year. Great looking raw bar. Great food and good service. I have always cabbed it here. If I get here early there is a great gourmet cooking shop across the street. A bit costly but not disappointing. Great martini. This place is a little loud but very energetic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

OK, an embarrassing admission. I've been dying to go to Balthazar for years, partly because it's got a great rep, partly because i love the space, and yes, partly because of Anthony Bourdain.

There, i said it. I'm guilty of being influenced by a TV star/chef connection with the place.

And I'll also admit i was ready to leave disappointed by over-hyped food and find the restaurant had outlived it's time. But...wow! This place is packed EVERY night for a reason.

Yes, it's a bit expensive.

Yes, it's sceney, even a tad pretentious.

But no, none of that matters. This place is EXCELLENT.

While the food is very, very well done, its the decor, atmosphere and service that won me over.

(If you can ignore the blowhard with the toupee sitting next to you trying to act sophisticated while also trying to peel the crispy skin off his fish -- dude a hint: the crispy skin is THE POINT of the dish).

For Apps, I had the warm goat cheese and caramelized onion tart with some sundried tomato pesto to cut the richness. It was perfect and they did not skimp on the cheese.My partner had the Onion soup with TONS and TONS of Gruyere on top. He raved about it.

For main courses, he had a grilled trout over a warm spinach, walnut and lentil salad (with prefect crispy skin on the trout). I i had the perfectly-cooked bar steak.with the most perfect frites ever. (They are famous for a reason.)

For dessert we shared a tarte tatin, which was fell executed, but might be the least interesting part of the meal.

The food was, indeed, excellently done classic French food. And generous portions of everything.

But the service: Amazing.

Our waitress was friendly, efficient and helpful. She answered any questions in a non-condescending way, and when i asked for a glass of wine, knowing i was getting the steak, she said "that's a little bit lighter" and explained the other reds by the glass and steered me to one that i liked quite a bit. That was when i was really impressed.

Water was refilled constantly, more bread offered... the waitress and her team worked as well-oiled machine so that i never really noticed them, but i never had to ask for anything either. The friendly "have a great night, thanks for joining us" from the doorman was the finishing touch on a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.