We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brunch on tuesday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
80 Spring St, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)
(212) 965-1414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
north carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“brunch on tuesday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

super service. waiter made good recommendations. food came quickly

noisy room

menu a little limited but food was excellent. spinach and artichokes w/ eggs perfectly cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,588
    1,114
    336
    90
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we are in the New York area for a special occasion, we choose Balthazar for a Sunday brunch.
It has never let us down
The atmosphere is great - a real New York experience with tables crowded into a high ceilinged room with wine bottles filling the walls and cases of bread of all imaginable type scattered around the room. It could easily be Paris.
The food for brunch is excellent. Our table for six had Beef Stroganoff (certainly one of the best we have ever tasted), steak and chips (the chips were divine and we all sampled some off our 12 year old grandson's plate), eggs Benedict and a prawn pasta. While there was no specific chidren's menu our two grandchildren (10 and 12 and true New Yorkers) were very happy to be ordering off the adult menu.
The deserts were magical - we had creme brûlée, merangues and chocolate mousse.
A perfect way to celebrate a birthday.
A must when visiting New York

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great experience here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Always a great choice if you are a French Brasserie fan. Brunch was delicious. Omelette perfectly cooked. Place is a zoo: crowded, noisy, cramped, but that's part of the experience. If I am in the SoHo area I MUST have at least one meal here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I love Balthazar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food is always great here. This is great French bistro food. They have great fries, mussels, steaks, chicken, etc. The desserts are out of this world. The profiteroles with chocolate sauce are especially delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Average Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came here for Brunch on a Saturday while visiting NYC for the first time. Wasn't really impressed. Service was not what I expected compared to the other restaurants in NYC. By the time a server came back to our table- who gave us a hot chocolate instead of a coffee, which we were trying to correct-our food had already been served. I guess my expectations were too high for this being one of the top rated restaurants (food and service wise). I had the scrambled eggs in a puff pastry with asparagus and wild mushrooms and I hate to say it but I have had better brunch items elsewhere. I probably will not come back or recommend this place to others traveling to NYC. Maybe the lunch/dinner is better?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balthazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.