We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballato's

Ballato's
55 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10012 (Nolita)
(212) 274-8881
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nolita
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Not extraordinary in my opinion, but everything you could expect from a good restaurant; polite service, nice environment and good food. I like my food even more tasteful, but still a nice piece of art.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    22
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic yet again ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my second time here , my husband took me here for my birthday ! The antipasti great , the sea bass in lemon and white wine and caper sauce was fantastic ! We love the atmosphere the banter with the waiters and everything about this place ! See you again soon Emilio .........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go For The Meatballs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Ok. You're in Little Italy. It's time to have spaghetti and meatballs! You won't be disappointed. We also had the Caprese Salad which was good but a little acidic for me due to the mozzarella being buffalo. Another beautiful salad we had was the Octopus Salad, it reminded me of when I lived in Tunis. Be sure and make a reservation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is worth the wait if there is a queue. It is authentic food and the atmosphere is great. The place is very minimal but charming. We shared the clams to start which were unreal and definitely the star of the meal. For mains I had a spaghetti and Emma had the veal which was full of flavour. We had a glass each of really nice wine. And to top off a great experience, the couple beside us paid for our whole meal, for no apparent reason. So thank you to the New York Reilly's for a wonderful meal and evening, it made our trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I convinced my wife to visit this place after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor. The place was small, intimate, and had a unique design which made us think we had found something special. However we were quickly disappointed.

First of all, let's be clear, this is not a low-cost place as indicated by TripAdvisor. For one salad, one plate of spaghetti and meatballs, one glass of wine, and one soda we paid well over $60. I'm not from New York, but in my mind that is not in the low-cost range.

We would not have minded the price, but the service was below average and the food was nothing spectacular. It took about 35 minutes to get a Caesar salad and another 20 minutes to get the spaghetti, way too long. Almost canceled the order. We didn't even get a "sorry for the wait" from the waiter.

I cannot recommend this place. I'm sure there are better places in this great city.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballato's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ballato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.