We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribeca Grill

Tribeca Grill
375 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2376
+1 212-941-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tribeca Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #570 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: corner of Franklin
Transit: 1 train at Franklin St
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for a quick lunch on my own. It's an open and friendly place, and certainly popular. The salad starter I had was very tasty but the main course shrimp and calamari medley was a little tasteless. I suspect the fish had been frozen but can't swear to it. The waiters could not have been friendlier but I will try some other places before I go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    206
    84
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Met friends on a Thursday night. Not too difficult to get a late reservation, moderately crowded. Food was very good, and service was decent. I'd call it a safe bet in Tribeca, won't be the best food, service, or scene you'll find, but won't let you down in any of those departments. Overall, good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Food but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a gap of many years, I returned to the Tribeca Grill to host a dinner for a few colleagues. Overall I thought that the quality of food was high. Certainly, everyone was pleased with their selection. However, perhaps not surprisingly, the dinner menu was a lot more expensive than the fixed price lunch option. The wine list, while very comprehensive, was ridiculously expensive. Very few choices could be described as good value for money. Our server tried very hard but she struggled to keep up with the large number of tables she had to look after.

I am certain that if this restaurant wasn't owned by Robert De Niro it would have closed by now. However his name is enough to get people to keep coming. Unless someone else is paying, my advice would be to avoid dinner and stick to the lunch menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What surprised me was the attentive service. I assumed the service would be lacking because of the hype surrounding the restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised. And the food was great too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a superb lunch here last Friday, which I think was the last day of restaurant week. It was great value just $25 for 3 courses. My partner and I both had roast chicken as a main course and it was cooked to perfection. The puddings here are to die for. The service was very good and we generally loved the ambience and atmosphere of the place. Would highly recommend and will be back next time we're in New York.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribeca Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tribeca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribeca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.