We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic restaurant with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sosa Borella

Sosa Borella
832 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
(212) 262-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sosa Borella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #902 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: c and e train at 50th street 1 train at 50th street n and r train at 49th street
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We tried this restaurant on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had the Shrimp Terra Cotta and the Lomo - both were so delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made a reservation based on reviews before our show. We were overwhelmingly surprised. Dined on Shrimp in Terra cotta and roasted veggies with polenta and the crab salad. Since it was my birthday I had dessert, the Tiramisu. Just the right amount. Service was exceptional. Small place but worth it. Prices are reasonable. Would go back there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic food. Great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Great food & service. Very reasonable for NY theatre district. Only knock was unseasonably warm & air conditioning not much help. Would definitely recommend!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wicked encore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was second time we have had after-show dinner here. First time was January 12, and now after enjoying Wicked nearby. Both times the place was still going strong and good atmosphere. Each time we were looking for a light meal of single course of pizza or pasta and a glass of wine,. The rest of the menu looked very tempting. The pizza is one of the more "authentic" ones you can find in NY and the pasta was perfect. This restaurant is becoming a tradition for us when visiting NYC. See you next time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A great restaurant for couples in Love. The food was very nice and their wine was absolutely amazing. A very relaxing place with a great atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosa Borella also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sosa Borella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sosa Borella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.