We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forty Years of Dining Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sevilla Restaurant & Bar

Sevilla Restaurant & Bar
62 Charles St, Apt 4, New York City, NY 10014-3088 (West Village)
212-243-9513
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #946 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
Ticonderoga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forty Years of Dining Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If I lived in Greenwich Village I would eat at Sevilla every day -- for the home-made salad dressing alone. As it is, when we travle back home to the city from our far-northern poutpost in the Adirondacks, the three places we always go are Peter Luger in Queens (the original Brooklyn site is always too busy), Park Side in Corona, and Sevilla at Charles and West 4th. Sevilla serves what my beloved spouse, The Lovely Former Ada Santiago of Ponce, Puerto Rico, says is the best paella she's ever eaten. Me, I don't eat seafood, so usually I have Chicken Villaroy, with an occasional foray into veal. Been eating here since the early 1970s, and hope never to have to stop.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisvegas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were told this was the best paella - well I'd hate to have the worst! The place was packed so certainly very popular. The serves are huge so maybe it's the price. I'm not a great paella fan & this place didn't change my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Yummmmmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you want Paella and San Gria this is the place in New York City to go to. Location in the West Village is great and the place itself has atmosphere I guess one would call it. Service is great and the prices for what your getting and where you are dining are certainly reasonable. With all the San Gria I would suggest a Taxi home and not the subway, lol. Also, expect to need a doggie bag, they don't skimp on portions.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, NJ
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A neighborhood standby in the West Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We joined another couple for a Friday night dinner at this restaurant on Charles Street. It was our first time there. Our friends have been coming for years, and I can see why. The paella was terrific, plentiful and delicious. My wife had shrimp in a garlic sauce, and our friends had similar dishes in a hot sauce. My wife and I shared a calamari appetizer. The dishes all came with salad, and, with coffees at the end of dinner, I thought we all had ample portions at reasonable prices. We arrived at 6 P.M. and, by the time we left, a hefty line was waiting to be seated. They may take reservations, but only for large parties. Get there early. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great arroz con pollo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very good food. The service was excellent. I recommend this Spaniard restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevilla Restaurant & Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sevilla Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevilla Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.