We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, Perfect Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Bar & Grill

Gotham Bar & Grill
12 East 12th Street, Between Fifth Avenue & University Place, New York City, NY 10003 (Greenwich Village)
212.620.4020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gotham Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $60 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 5th Ave + University Place
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street. F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south. 1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.
Paris, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, Perfect Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We took a group of 12 and they had a round table for all of us. The service was impeccable and everyone was thrilled with what they ordered. The halibut special was probably the best dish we had. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    215
    60
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still one of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've been going to Gotham since it opened back in the 80's. It is still one of the best and one of our favorites. I particularly like to go for lunch when you can get a great value in addition to the wonderful food and top notch service. I even bought their cookbook so I can make some of the dishes at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great way to finish a birthday and engagement!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

From walking in to leaving the Gotham grill everything was nearly perfect(tables too close together for perfection). From the moment we sat down John our waiter couldn't do enough to make sure our night went perfect,talking us through wine list to match food and which meals he recommended. We decided on tuna tartar,2 mushroom risotto and a seafood chowder,all which were stunning. Mains were New York steak,2 duck dishes and a mushroom and herb encrusted halibut to which we all said they were the best meals we've ever eaten!! Pear soufflé,trio of sorbet and cheese board followed to finish a perfect meal with a nice touch of a personal birthday wish and congratulations for the engagement which accompanied a complementary bottle of champagne. We also found the bill very reasonable for the standard of food and service we recivied. We would have no hesitation in going back to this great restaurant. Thanks for a great night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Decorated beautifully for the holidays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great food and the holiday decorations are really beautiful!
The food here is delicious, everyone loved what they ate. The duck, lobster and Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras stood out the most and received the most praise!
The desserts were disappointing, if you are a desert lover you will not be satisfied. This restaurant would be a 5 if, desserts were better and wait staff a little friendlier.
If you get a chance look at the herb garden out the back window.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My daughter went with a friend and came home raving about food, service & presentation. Made reservations for my sister's birthday. The tables were so close together that the woman sitting at the next table who was loud was yelling in my ear. The service was fine. Best I could say would be generic - I had been at Ruth's Kris the week before for dinner & the staff was friendly and very personable. Food was fine - nothing great and nothing notable about presentation. The only time I have ever seen food so well presented that I stopped and wanted to take photos was in the Hudson River Club years ago. When I go out I want space, good service and a relaxing memorable experience - this was not that. My birthday is coming up and I will tell my family/friends that this is not on the list of places to go. It would have been a disappointing experience no matter but after all of the hype it was especially so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.