We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nobu Next Door

Nobu Next Door
105 Hudson St, New York City, NY 10013-2331 (Manhattan)
+1 212-334-4445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Next Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #933 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Franklin St.
Transit: 1 to Franklin St. Station
Description: Nobu Next Door, which opened as an extension of the original Nobu, has now taken on a life of its own. Opened in 1998 due to high demand, its menu mirrors the original Nobu and offers Nobu To Go. Join us at Next Door for brunch Saturdays and Sundays.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taste of Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As soon as we entered the restaurant smell of fried, not very pleasant , food overwhelmed us. Table are squeezed together to fit as many diners as possible. The waiter was very attentive, the sakitini was excellent, shrimp tempura, butter lettuce wrap black cod were heavenly. As soon as I had the first bite from my sushi all the bad smell disappeared and I felt like I was in Tokyo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    52
    26
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stingey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Nobu previously and thoroughly enjoyed a most memorable (and very expensive) tasting menu, I was eager to try Nobu Next Door during Restaurant Week. The food was delicious, the service wonderful. But even after 3 courses, we left hungry. On the way home in the cab, my husband actually wanted to grab some pizza! (I successfully discouraged him). But not too long after, we both ate turkey sandwiches at home. With sake, our bill for 2 restaurant week meals exceeded $150. Which, in conclusion, left quite a bad taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Less snobish than the NOBU 2 doors left”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As all restaurants of Nobu Matsushita - this one is very good concerning cuisine, its' freshness, innovations, etc.
A bit overpriced but uf you are NOBU fun - it's the MUST!
Pity they do not serve unfiltered sake in less than 500ml - too much!
Black cod - the dish you can not miss!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent service. Great atmosphère. I had eggplant special, absolutely delicious. Very fresh and tasty food. A bit expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I love Nobu, but Nobu Next Door is just as good and in my mind much less pretentious. Food is excellent and you must not miss the yellowtail with jalapeño.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Next Door also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nobu Next Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.