We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time , good food ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepolino

Pepolino
281 W Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2204 (TriBeCa)
(212) 966-9983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #270 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good time , good food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Easy access restaurant with outside seating and 2 indoor seating areas. Pasta was very fresh and good tasting. Service was top notch. We had very good bottled Italian beer. Nice wine and port. Good desserts. I particularly enjoyed the flour less chocolate cake.

The bread and tomato flan concoction was very nice. We had the antipasto appetizer as well as the eggplant/ smoked mozarella appetizer. Antipasto was good. Olives were very small and pitted. Would have liked better choice, the cheese was excellent. Eggplant was sliced so thin that after baking it was like paper. Very tasty but would be better a little thicker .


The mains were all good pastas. Portions were small but adequate, for the price a small side salad or veggie would have made it perfect

Would return as the ambience was really nice. The decor with fresh flowers and nice pics was enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    85
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great ambiance but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We heard a lot about this place before coming here. The food was good but not outstanding. Friendly service and a great romantic sidewalk. It was just a bit too expensive for what they offered.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and into Tribeca. Our friends recommended this place and at 11:00pm why not try it. We sat on the sidewalk. The service was perfect. An Italian head waiter, who took our order and supervised a half dozen servers who made sure our water glasses were never empty and everything arrived on time and perfectly presented. The food was as good as any fine restaurant in Rome. We stayed much longer than we had planned. Not cheap, but not expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Very friendly service with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very tiny restaurant in Tribeca. Has outdoor seating with two tables outside by the main door. We sat at the corner table outside upstairs. It was very private and quiet but was just a little cramped. However, we selected this table because of the privacy. Our waiter was extremely friendly and from Italy. We had a daily special salad of fresh green beans with cherry tomatoes, olives, and warm mushrooms that was extremely satisfying and fresh. The Insalata di finocchi or fennel with orange and olives was very good. We had their homemade ravioli stuffed with spinach and cheese with a tomato sauce. The ravioli were very tender and made to perfection. The grilled shrimp over a cannoli bean salad were just ok. The shrimp were not fresh but frozen and this was the only disappointment. It was not bad but not up to standard in my opinion. The fish of the day was a sword fish with a endive and olive salad. It was slightly breaded with bread crumbs and pan fried in olive oil.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“This is our favorite restaurant in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Pepolino is a small restaurant in Tribeca that is owned by 2 guys from Italy. Both times we have been here we have been waited on by young men from Italy. They were both very personable & loved explaining items on the menu. You feel as if you have been transported to Florence when dining here. The tomato flan they bring to the table is delicious on the focaccia. So garlicky and fresh tasting. The tomato soup - phenomenal. As good as the tomato soup I had in one of the hill towns in Italy where the chef made this soup for the Pope! I ate it with a fork. We sampled a few pasta dishes - the pasta was fresh and delicious topped with a veal ragu and the other with a tomato sauce. Both very good. The best thing of the night was a pork special that had been baked for 24 hours & stuffed with herbs - ummm sooo good - I wish I lived in NYC so I could go back. In fact our next visit I will book this restaurant more than once - even with all the amazing choices in NY City! We love you Pepolino and will be back next summer.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepolino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pepolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.