We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food and a cozy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AGAVE

AGAVE
140 7th Ave South, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)
(212) 989-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
AGAVE is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,250 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 10th St. and Charles St.
Transit: 1, 9 Christopher Street
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unique food and a cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife had dined at Agave during a prior trip to NYC and really liked the food and the atmosphere. Her family is from New Mexico, so she's pretty picky about southwestern cuisine. She said the decor reminded her of home! We had the grilled corn appetizer, which was really yummy. We enjoyed our dinner entrees, but only wished we could have brought the leftovers home! The restaurant was packed (many patrons were redeeming groupons), so our server was a little frazzled. However, she was still polite and attentive. We wil definitely return the next time we are in NYC!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    25
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great quesadilla !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We came across this restaurant by chance, it was a hot day and we fancied sitting outside for lunch and there was a vacant table.

Service was very friendly and helpful providing both an insight to the food and local areas.

There was a good wine selection. Fresh chilled water was provided free throughout your meal.

I had the quesadilla and they tasted authentic, my partner went for a burger and he said it was one of the best he'd had of late.

Definately worth a visit either for lunch, brunch or even dinner !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“In a city of Great Restaurants, this was a great restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a place we have walked past many times and finally decided to stop in. Service was prompt without being overbearing. The food was well priced and delicious. We started with the Guacamole and chips. The chips were obviously made on the site and not prepackaged. The Guacamole was very tasty.

While I did not have mexican food as an Entree, my burger was excellent and I got Sweet Potato fries which were also excellent.

If you are in the village and can't find anyplace to eat...find Agave!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ROACH sighting--- and waiter was rude about it !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Went here for some drinks and nibbles.... we saw a roach skitter across the floor and got visibly flustered. When the waiter asked what was wrong, we told him, and he acted like we were making it up to get a free meal (which it should have been, because it sucked anyway!). One word: AVOID.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
1 review
“Tasty and not too expensive - a great place to meet friends for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My friends and I met for dinner at Agave. After we had been seated, the maitre 'd came over and apologized but he would have to move us to accommodate a larger party. He was very gracious and offered us a free round of drinks. We then ordered and enjoyed fresh and flavorful tex-mex dishes. I ordered the shrimp fajitas which were seasoned perfectly and the shrimp was not overcooked. They also offer many types of margaritas which were very good. They even happily accomodated a member of our dinner party who arrived very late and got out her order in a timely fashion. I would definately go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AGAVE also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to AGAVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AGAVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.