We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mas

Mas
39 Downing St, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
(212) 255-1790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #548 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Bedford Street and Varick Street
Transit: The A, C, or E and B, D, F, and Q lines all stop at West 4th Street which is approximately three blocks from the restaurant. In addition, the 1 line stops at Houston Street and is one block from the restaurant.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This review repeats much has been said, but Mas remains one of top overall experiences in NYC. Arrived a night early for a meeting so went solo on a Sunday night. Had the prix fixe, and freely substituted. Wine by the glass was a generous pour, with complimentary dessert wine at the end. Service attentive without being intrusive. Only knock was that I had to request additional bread, but that's a small demerit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    41
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali Rwanda
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Top Destination for NYC and for Farm-to-tablers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Wow! I'll start at the beginning. We took a drink in the cute little bar area which was uncrowded and where the bar served up a great cocktail. A snack would be nice there (but we're nearing perfection here). We then proceeded in to be served by Alfonso, who delivered, and I'm not exaggerating, the best service experience of our lives. Eminently professional; super-willing to let us sample various wines; not a hint of annoyance after trying a few wines and then returning to our original. He was also pro-active without being forceful and gracefully steered us through the menu. This is the sort of place that violates all NYC etiquette and allows you to do what you want -- if one wants a tasting menu and the other doesn't - no problem. If you want a certain dish as main and another as a starter - no problem. Regardless of what you wish, no problem. That attitude goes a very, very long way. It even overcomes my concern after starting with the chicken and finding it quotidien. Everything else was terrific. Many returns coming!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Recently my boyfriend took me to Mas for my birthday and we opted for the 6 course tasting menu with wine pairing. Hands down one of the best meals and experiences at a restaurant I have ever had.

Cozy interior, friendly, knowledable and accomodating staff. We are in our mid-late 20s and were on the younger end of the other patrons dining at the restaurant, in no way were we made to feel uncomfortable or out of place for eating at what is quoted to be one of the best restaurants in NYC. No pretention, which we have experienced at other restaurants around the city. Would definatly go back again, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Great experience all around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

As part of a family get together in NYC we made reservation at MAS. It was one of the restaurants on our "to try" list but hadn't gotten around to. On the Friday of Memorial Day weekend we all loaded into the car and surprisingly found a parking space close to the restaurant. We were seated at the central wooden table. The idea of choosing three courses off the menu to create your own tasting menu creates both a chalange as well as an opportunity to let your tastes preference express itself. We are a "sharing family" so we all had the opportunity to try many courses. At the top were the mushroom soup which was light and refreshing and the tuna appetizer which was so large two could share it. The trout was superb as was the lamb. More than one of us tried the softcrabs however because the season is so short I expect they will only be on the menu for a couple of weeks. The desserts were all wonderful. As important as the food was, so was the wonderful welcome and service. We all felt comfortable and pampered without having the waitstaff hovering. For the quality of food and overall wonderful ambiance the cost was a big plus for a Manhattan restaurant. We definitely will be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary & Chef's Tasting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We reserved a table on a Sunday night in January to celebrate our anniversary and had one of the MOST memorable meals ever! First it's a teensy bit difficult to find, our cab driver didn't even know where it was! But once we found the charming restaurant we were transported into a wonderful dining atmosphere. The restaurant was rather empty for it being a Sunday but we were sat in the back and half way through our meal we were alone and it was so romantic!

We did the chef's tasting menu and do not regret it at ALL! It was superb!! The wait staff was so enthusiastic to share the entrees with us and explain them thoroughly. We had almost 9 courses after all was said and done and each one was outstanding!!! Very creative dishes, like a pecan and pear soup, tender pork belly, even the cocktails were fantastic. My fiance and I were even given our desserts the way we wanted them without asking, I received the chocolate dish and he received the fruity dessert! It was like they read our minds!

I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting NYC. It was a great meal experience! We've been to Nomi in Chicago as well as Spiaggia and were hoping those two would compare but they didn't even come close! EAT HERE!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.