We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tartine

Tartine
253 W 11th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
212-229-2611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,129 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: West Village
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I love this place to go for brunch. The food is delicious, the ambiance is great, and the price is super fair. They don't accept credit cards, at least they didn't used to. I was once poorly treated by one of the waitress, but the owner was soo polite that I couldn't care less. I would definitely go back, this place is lovely. Oh and get here early or get ready to wait for a long time to be seated. Make sure you try the apple pancake!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    47
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“cozy and tight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

this small corner restaurant is very well located and has the flavour of a corner in Paris, but it´s very small or too many tables in it, and you have to bear in mind that no credit cards are accepted nor they have wines, you can bring your own.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A VERY GOOD Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and her boyfriend took me took this place for a late Friday lunch. They told me there are always big queues and lines for a table at the weekends...and so "it must be good !" A small bistro-like cafe decorated with a French Lighthouse and maritime theme, Tartine is both unremarkable and un-pretentious. The menu is simple and the service prompt. We all had the $14.95 'prix fixe' lunch menu which included a salad or soup to start and a choice of two mains. The French Onion soup was FANTASTIC. The Chicken Milanese which followed was fresh and tasty. The food was great value - the only criticism was that the Creme Brulee had been overcooked BUT the other deserts in the display cabinet looked amazing. This place is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best Value Meal in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I'm a long-time NYer and haven't tried them all, but I've tried many, and count this as the best value dinner in NYC (can't speak to the brunch)...food and service always excellent...BYO policy with no corking fee (good luck finding another in this town!).

When I say "best value dinner in NYC", I'm excluding things like food trucks and stands...that ain't dinner!

Get there early or be prepared to wait!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Tartine is a cute little French cafe located on W 4th & W 11th Streets on a very charming block in the West Village. A friend recommended this place to me for dinner, specifically for a dinner out with your girls. The food is pretty standard French bistro/cafe fare but is really delicious, at every course. We did not have to wait (timing!) but it is a cozy little spot and they don't take reservations so you might have to wait for a table. Much like a bistro in France, they don't shove you out the door either so you can have dessert and coffee and enjoy the company! Also notable: BYOB (yes!!!!!!!!) and cash only.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.