We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viceroy New York to your Saves list
Viceroy New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #186 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We arrived and checked in to a fairly small kingsize bed room. Because construction was still going on on the floor above us, we complained and were moved to a suite at no additional charge. In addition, we were treated to champagne and strawberries by the staff to mark our anniversary. A nice surprise and a comfortable stay.

The hotel is well located in midtown near Broadway and near great restaurants.

Room Tip: Try for a suite on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear RoseRich,

Thank you for sharing your recent Anniversary Trip to Viceroy New York. I do apologize that you were initially inconvenienced by construction noise when you checked in as we were doing some changes to our lower level. With that said, I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the complimentary upgrade to one of our suites and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We at Viceroy New York take pride in our enviable location, beautiful hotel and exceptional guest service. I am thrilled that despite the initial drawback with your original room, our team was able to offer you another which you were pleasantly content with.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    70
    38
    22
    5
See reviews for
35
95
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Just finished a 3 night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. Perfect location to great 5th ave shopping, Central Park and fabulous restaurants. The staff was very good and helpful. The room was perfect and spacious with a very comfy bed. Will be our go to hotel in New York from now on!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Charlyn P,

Thank you for your very kind TripAdvisor review of Viceroy New York. I am delighted to hear that you found our location and our rooms to be “perfect” and our staff to be “very good and helpful”. Reviews such as yours will be beneficial in assisting other travelers when deciding what their “go to hotel in New York” should be.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Viceroy New York and we are sad to be home! We had a superior room which is their basic room with a courtyard view and a queen bed. Some people have mentioned the small size of the rooms, I don't think this is the case and have stayed in much smaller rooms. The decor is excellent, a nod to the 1930's and the finishing touches make your stay. I enjoyed the coffee machine on most mornings. I had a little trouble with the aircon but nothing major and someone insisted on playing very loud music at 8.30 am but one call to reception and it was sorted. Staff were not pushy which I hate but attentive when needed. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was wonderful and had drinks on the rooftop. The Roof had a fantastic atmosphere and I bagged a comfy sofa right next to view on the balcony! Couldn't think of anything better than to bask in the sun, drink g&t's and admire that view. We will be back, hopefully soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear wardrobemistress,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience review of Viceroy New York! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and truly looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here for five nights as the hotel is ideally located for exploring NYC. The beds are super comfy and the room was spacious enough. We stayed in room 805 which has an enormous balcony, great for eating breakfast and watching the world. Our room was expensive though, $350 per night before taxes; breakfast wasn't included. The aroma of the hotel is amazing (you have to stay at the hotel in order to understand what I mean!) I would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Only 8 of the rooms have balconies; go for one of these. 805 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear lara s,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of Viceroy New York. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very fortunate to be in an enviable location that is accessible to all the amazing sights and shopping the City has to offer such as Times Square, Central Park and 5th Avenue. I am happy to hear that you found your bed to be “comfy” and your room to be spacious and that you enjoyed your view of midtown Manhattan from your own private balcony. I’m glad you also liked our original hotel scent which was custom made especially for our property. I do note your comments about the rate you paid and I assure you that it is quite a competitive rate amongst many of the hotels in midtown Manhattan.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

we spent one night at the viceroy and it was fantastic. great location a block off central park and in close proximity to shopping, shows, food, etc. we had a park view room with a huge window which had amazing views of both the city and park, and was amazing to wake up to. we also really appreciated the front desk staff for going the extra mile to make our anniversary stay especially memorable. drinks on the roof and an amazing bed were added bonuses. we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear mjh1015,

Thank you for your recent review of Viceroy New York! I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you highlighted our perfect location, stunning views of Central Park and New York as well as your experience with the Front Desk team .

We take pride in providing an exceptional guest experience and I am happy to hear hat we did not disappoint. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Viceroy New York in the future, perhaps on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The aroma and a/c in the lobby made me feel in another world after running around the streets of NYC. Service was very attentive and courteous. Kingsbridge was a delight and the Roof Bar had spectacular views of Central Park and the chic crowd! The green marble in the bathroom is almost soothing. The coffeemaker and the A/C were extraordinarily great. Housekeeping was the best, too. This property is hundreds of times better than a large convention style hotel.
Viceroy - great job.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear winewithdinner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your guest experience at Viceroy New York!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and happy to hear that you liked the aroma that is actually a special scent that we had created just for our hotel. I also love that you enjoyed your time at The Roof and in Kingside during your stay. Thank you for also mentioning the housekeeping service. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were fabulous. Great modern hotel with nice amenities and helpful front desk staff. However, were charged incorrectly for the minibar even though we never touched it. the woman at the front desk kindly corrected the mistake without a thought.The major problem we had with this hotel was regarding the valet. They cleaned our car out of all coins I had for parking meters in the cupholders. They also took 5$ from the center console. When we called the manager to inform him, he properly addressed it and graciously took the valet cost off my bill. Not happy that someone would steal, but very happy with how the manager (Brian) addressed it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Brigidbowser,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your last visit to Viceroy New York. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed your room and the various amenities that we offer.

I am very sorry that you had an erroneous Mini Bar charge posted to your account but I am pleased to learn that our Front Office staff was able to rectify this for you upon check out. I also take your comments very seriously about the items that had gone missing when you parked your car with our valet. I do greatly apologize for this and I have brought this to the attention of the valet company which we have contracted to service our guests.

I appreciate your honesty in sharing your experience with us and we will certainly review our processes so the issues that you encountered will not happen again.

We hope that you will consider us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Viceroy New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy New York

Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.