We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with two exceptions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy New York

Save Saved
You added Viceroy New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #182 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with two exceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were fabulous. Great modern hotel with nice amenities and helpful front desk staff. However, were charged incorrectly for the minibar even though we never touched it. the woman at the front desk kindly corrected the mistake without a thought.The major problem we had with this hotel was regarding the valet. They cleaned our car out of all coins I had for parking meters in the cupholders. They also took 5$ from the center console. When we called the manager to inform him, he properly addressed it and graciously took the valet cost off my bill. Not happy that someone would steal, but very happy with how the manager (Brian) addressed it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Brigidbowser,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your last visit to Viceroy New York. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed your room and the various amenities that we offer.

I am very sorry that you had an erroneous Mini Bar charge posted to your account but I am pleased to learn that our Front Office staff was able to rectify this for you upon check out. I also take your comments very seriously about the items that had gone missing when you parked your car with our valet. I do greatly apologize for this and I have brought this to the attention of the valet company which we have contracted to service our guests.

I appreciate your honesty in sharing your experience with us and we will certainly review our processes so the issues that you encountered will not happen again.

We hope that you will consider us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Viceroy New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    61
    33
    20
    4
See reviews for
32
82
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is incredible from the moment you walk through the doors. All staff members are extremely polite, and even remembered our names! The concierge (Chris) knew about all the great places to go, and directed us to some really great restaurants which were off the beaten path. The Rooftop lounge has a wonderful view of the city along with Central Park. Location is fantastic as well. Times Square, 5th Ave, and Central Park are all a short walk. Plenty of access to the Subway if this is the preferred means of transportation. Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. Housekeeping does a wonderful job providing guest with anything they need to make their stay even more wonderful than it already is.

Can't wait to visit NYC again and stay at the Viceroy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JessicaBarto,

Thank you for taking the time t write a review based on your guest experience at Viceroy New York! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, location and your interactions with our fabulous Concierge, Chris as well as our Housekeeping Team.

I will be most certain to share your feedback with the team members and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a nice hotel in a good location but all in all not 5 star worth.
Although the hotel and employees got potential in delivering a satisfactory service they still have a lot to achieve.
One week before we arrived we had several requests for items to be placed in the room upon arrival. It has been confirmed by the concierge department but when we checked in none of the requested items have been placed in the room. We had to ask for it again. The room was small and we had a non existing view to the back of the house, looking at ugly and noisy chimneys. Therefore we could not open the window during the night because of the noise and food smell hanging in the air. The aircon in the room was too noisy as well to keep it on all night. In the bathroom there is no space left to place your additional items. Matrace is to soft. One of the storage doors in the room was broke and we could not close it properly. We mentioned it to the Front Desk on the day of arrival and asked for it to be fixed. When we checked out after 6 nights it still had not been fixed.
The music in the elevators are way too loud, as if you are in a disco. The music level for a luxury hotel should be dimmed to a more decent tone.
All the staff members which we have seen during our week have been friendly but sometimes they had the attitude at looking “through” the guests, without actually giving them a notice. This goes especially for the concierge team.
On one occasion we went to the concierge to get help by hiring a car. Two concierges have been on duty standing next to each other. One of them took care of us and the other one was just standing by. When a delivery man came, “our “ concierge immediately interrupted our conversation to deal with the delivery man instead of handing the new issue over to his colleague. This can’t be......(was my thought in that moment).
The hotel has got a Roof Lounge Terrace on the 28th floor. We have tried every evening during our 6 night stay to catch a sitting place outside on the terrace. It was simply not possible as there are mostly outside guest visiting this place. Perhaps the hotel should reserve some nice places on the terrace only for inside guests. They are the onces who leave more money at the desk at the end of their stay. The hotel should think about it.
We have travelled a lot and have seen so many hotels and one thing I can say, the Viceroy Hotel NY has still got a lot to do to become a member of true Luxury Hotels. And this includes as well a 5 star service to the guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear aliceleilani,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of Viceroy New York. I have reviewed your comments very carefully and I appreciate all the points that you have raised.

We at Viceroy New York strive to provide our guests with exceptional service and a most memorable and enjoyable stay. I am sorry to learn that you did not experience this while you were with us. We will certainly review your comments about the items you requested for your room prior to check in as well as the A/C unit and storage doors you mentioned. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by these issues and we do apologize that some of the items you had asked for were not in your room upon arrival and that your request for the storage doors to be repaired was not addressed while you were here.

I am also very sorry that you were not pleased with your experience when you were speaking to our Concierge. We will certainly use this as a reminder to our team on improving our guest service and interactions.

The Roof bar has become one of the most popular rooftop bars in the City so it does tend to get crowded very quickly. Although you were not able to enjoy this on your last visit, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again so you can have the opportunity to relax there and see the wonderful views. Also, please note that we do have other room categories that might be more to your preference, such as our Terrace Rooms, Park View Rooms and Junior and Park View Suites which are slightly larger and face the front of the hotel or have views of Central Park.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at the Viceroy this August! Our room was gorgeous and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The midtown location was great and the view overlooking central park from the rooftop patio was amazing! All the hotel staff was very attentive and courteous. Special mention to our concierge Jeanie Voltsinis who was extremely knowledgeable and exceeded our expectations when booking transportation, tickets and restaurants! Thank you!! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tracey F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Viceroy New York. I m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our most comfortable beds, our inspiring view of Central Park and the attentiveness of our incredible staff. I would also like to thank you for your great feedback on our Chef Concierge, Jeanie. I am thrilled to hear that she was able to assist in making your trip and stay with us a huge success.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is an amazing experience. The concierge (Jeanie Voltsinis) will make your trip to New York absolutely the best possible experience. All the staff at the hotel are extremely courteous and helpful.

The amenities and rooms are great, extremely clean and comfortably with all the luxuries you need.

The beds will provide you with the sleep of your life...........especially if you visit the most amazing Roof Top Bar in NYC overlooking Central park, great service even when it was wall to wall people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Paul F,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at Viceroy New York! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Jeanie, our fabulous Chef Concierge was of great help. I am also pleased to hear that you mention the comfort of our beds and the beautiful views over looking Central Park at The Roof.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best hotel in New York. I would like to personally thank Jeanie Voltsinis for all she did when I stayed there for a week. The holiday wouldn't have been the same without her. Great hotel,Great rooms and fab roomtop bar. Going back in a few months.

Many thanks and we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Barry M,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at Viceroy New York! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our room decor and The Roof during your holiday. I am also pleased to hear that our fabulous Chef Concierge Jeanie, was of great help to you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Art Deco hotel was a perfect location for a work and play visit to NYC. The renovation are gorgeous. The staff is friendly above and beyond. The rooms spotless. Great roof top views of the Park. The restaurant Kingside is worth the trip alone. I found my new West side go too spot.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy New York, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Luckybay2014,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of Viceroy New York. I am very happy to hear that you were delighted with your visit and had a wonderful experience at our new property. Our designers, Roman and Williams, definitely were inspired by the Art Deco style and era of the 1930’s when conceptualizing the design of our hotel.

We at Viceroy New York take pride in providing excellent service and creating a most memorable stay for all our guests. I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and always willing to assist. I also am glad to learn that you enjoyed the views of Central Park from The Roof and the food and service at our restaurant Kingside.

We look forward to having you visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy New York

Address: 120 W 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy New York 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breaking the mold of midtown properties, Viceroy New York has the feel of a downtown hotel with the sophistication of its uptown counterparts. The striking double-height lobby, glamorous public spaces and guest room accommodations will feature a transformative décor that incorporates the city’s lifeblood through the strong, timeless, tailored style. Boasting 240 luxury guestrooms, many of which will have inspirational views of Central Park, the hotel's signature bespoke design details include elegant black muntined windows and original brass and aluminum light fixtures.Viceroy New York occupies one of the most energetic locations in Manhattan; the fusion of business and leisure on West 57th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues. The Roman and Williams designed façade of the hotel stands apart from its traditional neighbors with a distinctive appearance that creatively blends classic modern elements with bold, traditional rhythms in a disciplined grid of black brick and steel.Viceroy New York’s unparalleled amenities and culinary program will pulsate throughout the 29 stories, featuring The Roof, a paramount rooftop lounge in addition to Kingside, a signature restaurant located off the lobby and fronting 57th Street. Helmed by celebrity chef Marc Murphy, Kingside features a small plates menu of New American cuisine and sets the standard for quality dining and exceptional service in a buzzing, vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.