We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary tasting menu with premium wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babbo

Babbo
110 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9109 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 777-0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Babbo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #956 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between 6th Avenue and MacDougal Street
Transit: West 4th street subway station (8th street/Waverly Place exit): A,C,E,B,D,F and M trains. We recommend traveling at the back of the train if coming from uptown, the front of the train if coming from downtown, to find the closest exit at the station.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Extraordinary tasting menu with premium wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family (wife, daughter, and me) ate here on Mother's Day. We decided to try the tasting menu with the option for premium wines. We had 6 courses paired with special wines selected by the sommelier. We substituted for the mushroom course and ended up with an even tastier pasta dish. The wines lingered on the palate and complemented each dish perfectly. It was a memorable, though expensive, dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    245
    174
    65
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Have the pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went on honey moon a while ago and managed to get one of their non-book able tables at the front. We had the tasting menu with wine. There were two menus on offer, a varied and a pasta only. After trying the pasta I wish I had chosen the pasta only menu because it was excellent. I Haven't had pasta as god as this outside Italy. I remember the wine menu being excellent although the volume was too much for my wife and she let the lady on the neighbouring table share hers. Great experience. Reserved but friendly and efficient staff. My head suffered the next day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar for a true New York experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Try to grab a seat at the bar (no reservations taken for the bar), eat some great food, drink some fantastic wine and watch the world go by.
Babbo is a true NY institution. To have lasted so long when many NY restaurants have opened and closed is testament to the quality and innovation of the kitchen,

The menu is seasonal and regional so you'll see ramps right now, expect corn and heirloom tomatoes soon.

The wine list is almost entirely Italian. There are many gems to be found , especially if you know your way around producers of Barolo or Barbaresco, if you are stuck the sommelier is typically there to offer expert advice.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food marred by so-so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Babbo isn't the same restaurant that it used to be. Yes, the food is still wonderful, however, the wait staff was indifferent, and the sommelier was uninterested in finding about what kind of wine we were interested in, and in explaining why certain wines were chosen.

Was disappointing, especially when it used to be the restaurant we compared service against.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Our go-to place for a special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We never bother to try to make reservations, but also come early 5:30-6pm and get one of the 4 tables at the front of the restaurant. These tables for 2 are always exempt from reservations. We have done the tasting menu before, but it was a lot of food for us. So we decided to share an appetizer and have 2 pastas. I think we would have been fuller if we shared 1 pasta and shared 1 secondi. service is pleasant and quick. The pastas are wonderfully cooked. My husband had the black spaghetti with lump crab which was light but amazing flavor and i preferred his to mine which was the housemade orecchiette and sausage and broccoli rabe. again the pastas are just wonderfully textured, but his dish was more subtle and ... better than mine which was more tomato-y and hearty. There is always an amuse bouche (this time, chickpeas, which weren't awesome.) and tiny cookies with the check. the lemon torta was very good paired with the ricotta gelato. next time, i think we will share a pasta (primi) and then share a secondi and dessert. a quartino is enough for 2 glasses of wine. Bill for food was $100.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Babbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.