We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...fabulous Italian food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arturo's

Arturo's
106 W Houston St, New York City, NY 10012-2529 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 677-3820
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,960 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow...fabulous Italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a fabulous restaurant as everything was delicious. From the salads to pasta to pizza, everything was awesome. The seating is tight but the atmosphere is fun and family friendly. We are from Ohio and met a family next to us from Chicago. They also raved about the pizza they ate. I would highly recommend trying this place if in the area. If you like Manacotti and pesto, get that combination...outstanding and so much I couldn't finish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    50
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's an experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arturo's is easy to criticize. There are many details that when highlighted are definitely components of a below-par restaurant. However, Arturo's is an event....an experience. The sum of the substandard parts somehow make a marvelous whole!
The combination of being able to enjoy a full bar at a pizza joint, revel in vibrant jazz music, and throw back some pretty decent pie, results in an evening to remember.
The only way to dine at Arturo's is in the main dining room where the band plays. Don't sit outside or in the back areas - if you must wait for an extra hour to get a prime table it's worth the delay. Go with good friends or date on an evening when you're in the mood for some lively fun. Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A West Village Institution For Reasons Never Understood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I first ate at Arturo's in the '80s with a college friend and have regularly returned since for unofficial reunions. My friend lives below the Mason Dixon line and considers Arturo's the epitome of Italian food. I live in the East Village and only dine at Arturo's when my friend comes to the city. That should tell it all. The pizza is somewhat better than average. Our most recent visit was in August 2012. The veal parm arrived hidden in a layer of mozzerella thicker than a North Face down jacket. The linguini with clam sauce was pedestrian. That said, I enjoy my visits because of the atmosphere and jazz. And Arturo's is the only restaurant in NYC where there is a bathtub in the bathroom.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Decided on dinner here when walking by. It was full-up with what looked like locals so thought it would be a good bet. Pizza was quite good, nice size, decent amount of toppings and crispy crust. Live jazz band were entertaining. They have no beer in tap, just bottles. Not worth a special trip but a good bet if in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Came for the pizza, ate Lobster instead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Oh my goodness! So, my wife and I walked by this place on our way to see a movie at Angelica's and we saw that they had a coal fired oven. We saw some very tempting pizzas and thought, hey, let's come back here and get a bite before the movie starts. Well, we got a table right away, sat down, and saw that the man next to us was eating a lobster with various other delectables from the sea, swimming in a tomato based sauce. THEN, we saw that it cost as much to get a large pizza as it would for us to split that lobster. (With portions as big as they are these days, we usually split one plate and even then we come home with leftovers). So, we got the lobster and some wine and MAN was it good. They also had a pianist playing in the next room, which we enjoyed. Not too loud and we could have a conversation when we weren't eating yummy lobster. Definitely recommend this one. Next time, maybe we'll try the pizza. It looked and smelled delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arturo's also viewed

 

Been to Arturo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arturo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.