We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters were super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquagrill

Aquagrill
210 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)
212-274-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoHo
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oysters were super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Super busy place we were lucky to find a last minute table on a Saturday evening.
We really liked the oysters. Appetizers and entrees were at the same level.
No room for dessert but next time will have to try some of them.
Service was good too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    178
    40
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bro-in-law gets this one right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Seemed like everyone here knew about this place but us (to wit, the place reeked of return customers). For these long-time New Yawkers it was a first visit, thanks to a brother-in-law who recommended it. He doesn't always get it right, but this time he did. We were here for Saturday brunch, sat at the bar and had an engaging moment with the couple visiting from Maine next to us, who said it is always on their agenda when in Manhattan. My Mrs. had Rhode Island cherry stone clams, -- large, plump and very fresh. We thought we were in Rhode Island! Actually, there is a story here: We have a weekend/vacation home in R.I. and we have not found cherry stones of such size and quality in RI in years. They must ship the best to N.Y. to get a better price, though the brunch price ($1.55 a clam) is as fair as it gets in Gotham. I had a piece of rare tuna on a banquette roll, with avacado and greens; it came with some of the best French fries ever. It's not surprising that Aquagrill has a loyal following.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Seafood: Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The two of us had a wonderful lunch: good tasting and well presented. Cost was reasonable for quality. Menu is large with a reasonable selection of wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Yummy! I'm glad we came back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Last year, we ate here and loved it. This year we wanted to eat here because we enjoyed it so much last time. This time we ate at the bar, next to the oyster guy. We came so early at 5:30 and just started eating oysters and some appetizers. At 6pm we were able to order from the dinner menu. I chose the cod with a mushroom crust, mushroom ravioli and hen and chicks mushroom with creamed spinach with a truffle mushroom sauce. That's the whole dish. Super yummy at the first bite. The oysters were so good too. The lady waiting at the bar was the best. My son was so amazed how nice she was. He even asked me why she was so nice. Next time I will definitely make reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dive in with no regrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

When my usual SoHo spot was unexpectedly closed for the day, I dove into a new dining adventure at Aquagrill. Wish I never had to re-surface (or stop eating)! Oysters a-bed glistening ice were expertly delivered to the table by attentive staff. Chef's Specialty, Atlantic Grilled Salmon was superb; I requested a spoon to enjoy every drop of the sea of lemon coriander sauce. Carmelized Mango Tart on a base of marscapone cheese, topped with macadamia nut brittle ice cream (ALL made on site) was a delectable finalé.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquagrill also viewed

 

Been to Aquagrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquagrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.