We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocina Economica Mexico

Cocina Economica Mexico
452 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)
212-501-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,057 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“FABULOUS meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Cactus salad, octopus salad, avocado corn bread, salmon in banana leaf, black sea bass special..ALL AMAZING!! Love the very pure margaritas and the cucumber drink..so refreshing...very small but have never had much of a wait...Simple, reasonable with fab food...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Their name says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Dinner for two with drinks, tax and tip was $53. Daughter had cactus salad and veg empanadas . I had flavor filled pork shoulder with soft corn tortillas and several salsas. The place is tiny and there's no sidewalk seating meaning go early or late to get a table. Wine was pricey but at least 7 oz pour. Usual Mex beers. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I really like this restaurant, I popped in here for a coffee ($3.50) and a banana empanada ($7.00) on a Saturday morning before the weekend brunch crowd arrived. It has a laid back atmosphere and great decor. I would definitely come back here the next time I am working in the neighborhood. Great little find and sometimes I'm sorry to give away my favorite places, but instead of being selfish and keeping a great spot to myself, I will share it and risk not being able to get a table the next time I am there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FRESH farm to table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

same owners as Land N est thai .... great for dates

Fresh food.. love

they dont take reservations so you may have a wait

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious new incarnation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Found this restaurant through Time Out NY for the UWS. Has recently reincarnated as Cucina Economica a Mexican restaurant! As they say - same place, same staff just different cuisine.
Food was absolutelly delicious and very reasonably priced - every dish was a winner. My half chicken was succulently marinated and perfectly cooked to be melt in your mouth tender. Small intimate restaurant where you could converse easily without shouting. Great ambience as well - could imagine
was in some south of the border joint. Just check you get given the correct tables bill at the end of the night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocina Economica Mexico also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cocina Economica Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocina Economica Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.