We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Empanadas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuchas

Nuchas
Times Square, Broadway & 44th Street, New York City, NY (Midtown)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,400 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Eclectic
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Empanadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I loved the location of this stand as it was just across the street from my hotel and an easy walk. I purchased breakfast empanadas for my kids and they were delicious. Great food at a truly decent price- about $3.50 for an empanada. Cheap eats in NYC~!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Empanadas as fresh as you'd find in Argentina!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very conveniently located on Times Square, this food shack was highly recommended for empanadas. The variety is a step-up from usual meat & cheese ones you'd find in South America, with quality ingredients (portobello, shiitakes, ribs, etc.) and creative doughs (spinach, parmesan, turmeric, almond, etc.) earning them the "artisan" empanada title.

Very affordable. Quick service. Outside seating on Times Square - what else could you want?!

Alfajores & medialunas also available.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stand with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I took the family to Times Square for the first time and I stumbled across this stand. So, I decided to try the spicy chicken empanada. I ordered one and started down the road. well, by the time I made it a block away, I had already decided that I was going back that night for another one. The empanada was one of the best that I had ever had and it only took a couple of minutes to get my food and it was still fresh. They even had dessert pastries that looked really good. The empanadas were a smaller than I expected but they were good. I will be heading back to this spot again soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant idea dimly executed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

On a blistery cold, windy day I stopped by (2d time trying the empanadas) for a quick bite. Although, as you can see from the side of the free-standing outlet the empanadas are touted as "baked fresh all day", what you get may depend on the timing of your visit. On both occasions my empanadas (two on the first visit; three today : spicy chicken, short rib, and jambalaya filled) were soggy and may have been sitting a while in under heat lamps or in a warming drawer -- crisp only along the coiled edge, soggy and splitting open on the bottom. It's a pity, as the fillings were plenty tasty. Maybe the others who have more highly rated Nuchas got theirs closer to the time they were fresh baked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Surprised as it was much more than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

As I did not eat breakfast for early bird sight seeing, I was a little bit hungry but too early for Lunch and I happened to find this food wagon on 34th street to eat something and did not care the name. What a surprise! Both Spicy Chicken and Macchiato were very good. Maybe it is wise to
eat all kinds they offer day by day instead of eating highly priced mediocre restaurants foods specially if you are alone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuchas also viewed

 
 

Been to Nuchas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuchas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.