We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Town-awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VIV Thai

VIV Thai
138 East 34th Street, New York City, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #557 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Mpls.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“First Night in Town-awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Since we had just arrived at our hotel and it was well passed dinner, we opted for VIV which was right next door. We were seated immediately. Cute decor. Excellent service. My daughter loves Thai food and has tried many Thai places. She loved it saying it rivaled her favorite place in Chicago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great thai in a lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went here for lunch on my last day in New York as it was closeby to where I was staying and i'm glad I did. They have a 2 course lunch offer for $7.95/$8.95 plus tax depending on what meat you choose for your main. I had the spring rolls and the chicken panang and it was flavoursome and a good size (not too big). The decor is really nice inside and the music was a nice touch. It looks expensive by the decor. If you did eat off the menu it was normal US pricing like $10 - $20 for a main plus tax. The staff were friendly and all in all I enjoyed the experience. Although it wasn't overly busy when dining in, the kitchen seemed to be doing quite a few delivery orders.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to VIV on a whim and I'm glad I did. I had the spring rolls appetizer and the sweet and sour chicken. Everything was good. I loved loved loved the decor of the restaurant. It was glam and fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in a classy joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We dined here last week, we were staying next door at Affina Dumont and the food is very good. Had some other Thai meals in the US and they just didnt cut the mustard. Coming from Australia I think we get spoilt for good Thia food. Anyway good meals , nice presentation and as with most place in US great service. We ended up eating here 2 times in our 10 day stay in NY

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So happy VIV came to Murray Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have lived in Murray Hill (Midtown Manhattan) for 6 years and FINALLY a really good and very inexpensive Thai restaurant came to 34th St. Every dish I have tried on the menu has been delicious. From the wings tossed in caramel garlic sauce to the seafood avocado papaya salad and pineapple fried rice with shrimp, everything is a slight twist on a classic Thai dish.

And, they have a great happy hour that starts early with beer for $3 and wine for $5. Can not beat that!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIV Thai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to VIV Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIV Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.