We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, couple blocks from GoTo bus pickup/dropoff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Rates
Ranked #101 of 459 Hotels in New York City
USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location, couple blocks from GoTo bus pickup/dropoff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved the location ! Close to everything- pubs, Times Sq, shopping and bus pickup/dropoff. We came up by the GoTo bus and were dropped off only a few blocks from this hotel. Also pickup was only a few blocks away. Nice 2 double beds room, lobby deck overlooking Herald Sq. Quiet. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear rmcdUSA,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    104
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
101
49
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I had no reservation, I showed up at 1130am. They were fully booked. They hooked me up with a room and I was in it by 1135am. Wow, great service at this Hotel. The staff is top notch. I can't remember the young lady's name that was at the front desk, but she was excellent. Affordable when you compare it to NYC hotel rates overall, it NY, so Everything is expensive.

Room Tip: Higher the better to be quieter... IT NY after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis F L, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good morning!

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially being able to accommodate you without a reservation. We are proud to have all out staff and look forward to having you whenever you return to New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We come to NYC every year, always staying in a different hotel, looking for "the one". Guess what?? We found it.
The Heralds Square Marriott is the perfect hotel in the perfect location. I am traveling with my 12 year old son, and I picked this hotel based on the Marriott name and the location to the subway entrance. We bought 7 day subway passes, but we haven't used them once. We have easily walked to everything. I feel safe walking to and from the hotel at night.
Macys's is right across the street and the view of the Empire State Building at night from our room is magical.
The Marriott staff have been awesome. I will miss Jessie the night security guard, he is always smiling, gives great directions and seems like such a nice guy. Jose was great also. Our check in clerk Melisa (sorry if I spelled your name wrong), was superb!! I used the computers in the lobby once, and while there since I knew I would be leaving a review I paid attention to the 2 gentleman working the desk Monday. They were curteous and professional to the guests checking in.
Our room was always clean, and the housekeeping staff was wonderful.
We leave in the morning.....and neither of us want to go.

Room Tip: My 12 year old son and I shared a king room with a sofa bed. (Room 909) We enjoyed the 2 windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear JimsTrophyWife,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am so delighted to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay. Your accolades will be shared with the team, especially Jesse, Jose, and Melisa. We are very excited to be "the one" and can't wait to have you back again. Thank you for the review and we wish you safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Location in very congested part of the city but very central and convenient; subway stop right there. All the staff very nice; had a particularly nice experience w/ Michael the doorman (helped me w/ directions, grabbing a taxi and retrieving luggage). Rooms clean, beds comfy and amazingly quiet. Breakfast varies on what you order, is in comfortable dining area. I loved the coffee and oatmeal. Bathroom small but well stocked and good water pressure. Wish there had been an outlet next to bed to charge cell phone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear stuffedcabbage,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. All of your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was fantastic. When we first arrived we were greeted by Michael the doorman. He was very friendly and helpful. He was essentially the hotel's concierge. He oriented us to the hotel. The lobby for check-in is actually on the second floor. The rooms appear new and decorated in a contemporary fashion. There is a safe box and a refrigerator in the room. We were on the 11th floor. We still could hear sirens but essentially no street noise. There is a 24 hour snack vendor in the lobby. One can access the rooftop bar through the Monarch Bar. The view from there was decent but not spectacular. This hotel is a short block walk to the Empire State building and only a few blocks away from Times Square. Buy a subway ticket. It's the cheapest way to get around Manhattan. Michael, our doorman, arranged for a car service to LaGuardia for our departure. It was a standard $49 fee. The Lincoln town car was there on time and made our trip to the airport very easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to this hotel next time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Anthony T,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. We are proud to have him on the team and look forward to having you whenever you return to New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really nice hotel, we were upgraded and we were surprised how big and modern the room was. We also found that the location of the hotel was really good. You could walk to everything and didn't have to worry about transport. Plenty of restaurants near the hotel and also good shopping. Coming from another country we felt safe at the hotel with excellent doormen. It was good on the last day when we checked out and could leave our bags in storage and still go shopping for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear marianellwood,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Michael the doorman is the world's best! Great location, service, etc. Rooms are also very pretty with good views.

We also appreciated the friendliness of the maintenance staff. Rooftop bar is cool bonus!

We also like the cafe Martinique around the corner on 33rd. Great brunch! Hotel has easy access to many similarly situated restaurants like petit poulet

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially with the help of Michael. We look forward to having you back whenever you are in New York. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square

Address: 71 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.