We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Rates
Ranked #100 of 459 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location. Beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Hotel was beautiful, clean, modern and in a great location. The rooms were not as small as I've encountered in NYC. Nice rooms and beautiful bathrooms. Definitely would stay here next time I'm there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear JeanetteC28,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and would be happy to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    103
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
49
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Near penn station. Just three short blocks. Rooms New York size. Adequate but. Bathroom astonishingly large for a small room. Everything gleaming new and squeaking clean. Nice bistro behind reception. Very courtyard- Pleasant professional service. USB chargers on table and bedside lamps and a very tech phone console that allows iPhone charging. Even has a reading chair and foot rest. Stayed in high floor, very bright. Shower lacked power but was fine. Only negative, and perhaps I did not do it right: writing table a little taller for the chair and I could not raise the chair height. Will definitely stay here given it is 5 blocks to Times Square and port authority. Plentiful eating options all around.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the conveniences of our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us in our continuous effort to best serve our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have already received excellent service from this hotel and I am not staying there till October 2013. I am taking my daughter for her 21st birthday and have been in email contact with the hotel who seem determined to ensure that we have a memorable time. I am very impressed with the customer service so far. I will update after our stay in October. So far so good! Well done Courtyard by Marriott Herald Square New York! I have had to rate all aspects of this hotel to be able to submit this review but as I haven't actually stayed there yet I have rated them all 5 star in anticipation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. It is with great pleasure and pride to provide the best service to our guests. We hope to make your daughter's birthday the best yet. I look forward to welcoming you to New York and our hotel in October. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time here and loved the convenience of walking over from Penn Station for our weekend stay.Quick, friendly and efficient check in. Wish I could remember the name of the young gentlemen who checked us in but he was great, animated and extremely helpful. Very attentive staff even the security person on the ground floor at the elevator was friendly and helpful. Subway is right outside the front entrance along with lined up cabs ready for hire. Plenty of food options close by. Room was clean and and very comfortable with two double beds. We were on the 17th floor which was great as we had very little noise from the streets below. Only thing we found strange was no shelf in the shower and bathroom was small but it all worked and we will be returning in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am very glad to that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide the best service to our guests and ensure their comfort while at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and very helpful staff.
The place has been open for only a few months, so everything is still new, nice, and very clean. The bed was comfy, and the work space more than adequate.
Can't think of any reason not to go back again - and again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will be happy to be your new "go-to" hotel. Thank you for the great review and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific, budget friendly hotel in midtown. The hotel is newly renovated making it both stylish and comfortable. My room was quiet and very clean. The bed very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in providing subway directions, etc. When travelling again in the area I will certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent one night at this Courtyard. An excellent choice for midtown - great location, friendly staff, very comfortable beds, cool / quiet AC. Wonderful fitness center. Our room was a little on the small side, but this is the "new normal" in increasingly popular NYC.Unless you are ready to spend mega dollars, will just need to get used to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Manhattan/Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that our hotel and our associates helped you enjoy your stay. I look forward to having you back again soon, hopefully for a longer stay. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square

Address: 71 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.