We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Lincoln Center Convienient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andanada

Andanada
141 W 69th St, New York City, NY 10023 (Formerly Andanada 141)
646-692-8762
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andanada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,142 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Columbus-Broadway
Transit: 1 train to 66th Street-Lincoln Center 2/3 train to 72nd
Description: For a true Spanish dining experience, visit Andanada. Our two-time, two-star Michelin chef, Manuel Berganza, turns traditional Spanish dishes into works of art, all while remaining true to the flavors of Spain.
New York City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious and Lincoln Center Convienient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Last night we dined at Andanada on West 69th Street and Amsterdam Ave. after we looked on Savored for a restaurant close to Lincoln Center. We booked on line with a 20% discount for a Saturday evening and had a wonderful dining experience. Attentive friendly staff, owner at the door, bus staff very pleasant and food we raved about. The eggplant tapas was superb. The hostess told us they are prepared with wooden knives to improve the taste. My husband and I shared a mixed paella which was tasty down to the last grain of rice and seafood. Even my glass of sangria was first rate enough to stop and inquire of the bartender about their recipe. Lovely creative decor, friendly vibe and comfortable level of noise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Eating well near Lincoln Center ain't cheap, yet somehow, we're lucky to find this neighborhood gem for Mothers' Day dinner. We had their Mothers' Day menu, weren't expecting much since it's a 3-course prixe fixe. Were we pleasantly surprised! We had for appetizers brussels sprouts with smoked salmon and anise, and herring in millefeuille pastry with apple; roasted quali with wild spring mushrooms and seafood risotto for entrees; flan and homemade crepes to finish our wonderful dinner. Not only were the portions generous, they were good! Can't believe it! On top of that, our waitress (I wish I had gotten her name) was attentive. When she saw me looking 'longingly' for our desserts, she quickly went into the kitchen to check ...without us asking! Now we call that SERVICE! room is nicely decorated, with modern furnishing, yet warm. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Tapas abound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Eggplant, octopus, sausage, artichokes, calamari with squid ink aioli, crema de Catalana: all satisfy. The salad could easily serve three. A perfect prelude to a performance at Lincoln Center or around the corner at the Triad Theater (where we saw a fun Gotham Burlesque after the meal). The prices are fair and the food bountiful. Service was efficient and helpful. No complaints here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The best Spanish food in the neighborhood (Upper West Side). the food was delicate and flavorful. The service was great. The room is lovely with a lot of light coming in from a glassed-in area at the back. It wasn't noisy and its on Open Table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“True Modern Spanish Cuisine Finally Arrives in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had great expectations for Andanada 141.Then again, knowing that Manolo Berganza, their dynamic young chef, was at the helm I had high expectations. He received two stars in his first recognition by Michelin as chef of Sergi Arola's Gastro in Madrid. I've spent a great deal of time in Spain, therefore am quite familiar with the gastronomy of Spain's diverse regions, from traditional to modern deconstructivist. Berganza's culinary repertoire at Andanada 141 is replete with delicious, creatively crafted, thoughtfully prepared, well executed fare made with the freshest of ingredients. More than just a twist on traditional Spanish fare, the fundamentals remain while dishes are elevated, all quite satisfying and amazing.
The Pate de Cabracho, Pulpo a la Gallega, Beeter Gazpacho (gazpacho with a twist), Patatas Bravas, the Hamburguesa de Rabo de Toro, Pargo Rojo sobre Patatas Panadera y Ensalada de Escarola con Romesco (Red Snapper w/potatoes with romesco sauce and frisee salad) were all amazing and quite satisfying.
The all Spanish wine list was also well thought out with enough variety to satisfy any palate. Even their wines by the glass were quite nice, not so common in NYC. They cover most wine regions across Spain. Starting with a bone dry Manzanilla Sherry or a cava, then moving on to their fine generous selections of whites and reds, they will certainly satisfy. Like the food, the wines were quite reasonable, considering the quality.
A great modern Spanish gem, a treasure for any lover of great food. Not only for the UWS, but for downtown dwellers like myself, who know its definitely worth the trek uptown, despite the plethora of great restaurants down here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andanada also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Andanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andanada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.