We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A show that all should see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motown The Musical on Broadway

Motown The Musical on Broadway
205 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$144*
and up
Ranked #73 of 809 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MOTOWN: THE MUSICAL is the real story of the one-of-a-kind sound that hit the airwaves in 1959 and changed our culture forever. This exhilarating show charts Motown Founder Berry Gordy's incredible journey from featherweight boxer to the heavyweight music mogul who launched the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye, and so many more.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“A show that all should see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The show was great. It bought back a time when music was something special. I enjoyed the show and would recommend it to the rest of the world. I only ask that they include ooh baby baby by Smokey Robinson.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,449
    407
    122
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Growing up in the Motown era, I knew I had to see this show. I attended on Friday Sept 6, 2013 for the 8:00 show. I was not disappointed. I had a orchestra seat, matter of fact, it was the last row in the center, where it had 3 of us in that row. Which turned out perfectly fine by me. I so dislike having to be inconvenienced while folks arrive late etc., The Diana Ross character was beyond "excellent!" she had the total package. Looks, sounds, size, personality. All the characters were on point. The young man who portrayed a young Michael Jackson, is a dynamic performer. Truth be told, the Marvin Gaye character in my opinion had limited appearances. I was expecting so much more. Nonetheless, it was totally worth the money. It's a definite not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rude house staff, great show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

After a great night out with my mother and grandmother (we loved the show!) I accidentally left my phone in my seat. I went back about 8 min after the show was over, watched the house manager place my phone on the counter of the box office to come open the door for me. She asked what I wanted and then stated that she had a phone and had just placed it to the side, but I wasn't allowed to pick it up until the morning- like I was some child in school!!! Even after explaining to her that as a physician I absolutely needed my phone for emergency calls- she shrugged her shoulders and said, "that's the best I can do." The phone was right behind her!!! I have never spent a fair amount of money to get treated so poorly! Really an astonishing turn of events after a wonderful play! Disappointed. Can't wait for it to come to Texas, when I know patrons will be treated with the respect they deserve!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Music and Fun Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really enjoyed this show. I practically grew up listening to Motown music, so I was very interested in seeing this play. My one regret is that more of the stories behind the singers weren't told. The musicians, singers and actors were all wonderful, especially the part of Berry Gordy. It is the play that feels like a concert from the past.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awesome Musical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just a great musical about the most famous record label in history, the man who founded it, and the songs we know and love against the historical background of the times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motown The Musical on Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Motown The Musical on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motown The Musical on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.