We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, coming back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #121 of 449 hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing, coming back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good experience at this hotel. Worth the money and the view is great. Also extremely close to the empire state. Close to the subway as well. The decor was outstanding and I loved the new york themes picture frames in the room. Shower was very nice. Staff was very friendly. I have stayed at over 20 hotels in New York in the past 3 years. This one is in my top 3 for sure. The free breakfast is very good and kept very clean. I will be returning here for all my future stays. They need more Best Western Premiers throughout New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    186
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
167
150
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel, while it has many floors, it is on very small real estate. That means relatively small rooms. Other than that, it was great. Very modern and clean, free Wifi, and great staff who are very friendly. Steps away from Keen's Steakhouse at the corner. If driving to NYC, you may want to park at Meyer's parking on 35th btwn 5th & 6th, instead of icon across the street from the hotel. A short walk can save you $20 a night. This can add up when staying a few nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night at this hotel and had a delightful experience. It started at check-in - the receptionists were patient with us when we took 25 mins to rearrange our luggage before checking our bags prior to the check-in time. We ended up getting into our room early, but we were nervous to find our room on a lower level right across from the elevator. Thankfully that was unwarrented - the room was sound-proof. The bathroom was beautiful. Not only was it clean and well stocked, it had a great layout. One of the best showers I have ever taken. In the morning there was free breakfast, which was yummy (yay free!) and then we headed to the subway. As we checkes out, we got more excellent service. An employee let us know that we could check our bags with the hotel for the remainder of the day for free. This made our trip far more enjoyable since we didn't have to lug our bags and we wouldn't of thought to ask for the service. Basically, the employees catered to our every need - even the ones we didn't know we had. The Penn station stop was only a few blocks away, which made it easy to use public transit to get around. They are also walking distance to Bryant Park, which is great, and Times Square. The one caveat is that the rooms are small. It was a bit crowded with three of us in the room. For the low price we paid though, it was more than adequate and clean as a whistle. New favorite NYC hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponder, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this Best Western for 1 night precruise. The front desk personnel were so helpful, they stored our luggage (a massive amount, thanks to our adult daughter coming) so that we could go sight seeing, had our room ready by 1:30 pm and accomadated our request for extra pillows and a blanket with a smile. The room is not huge but very well laid out and the bathroom shower was huge. Everything was very clean. We loved the water, coffee and tea available in the lobby, especially after trekking around NYC for hours. The location was excellent, very close to the Empire State building so we had nice views whenever we walked anywhere. Definitely make the trek to Best Bagels, super yummy bagels. The breakfast at the hotel was very filling, not awesome but enough choices for us. They were also willing to give us a little leeway on check out time or hold our luggage for us again. All in all a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel! Very clean and beautifully decorated in very clean lines and modern in style. The staff was well trained and provided the most professional and caring help we would have not expected in a very busy city like NYC on a holiday weekend. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the Empire State Building one way and 3 blocks the other way from the Chrysler Building. 5 blocks from Times Square and around the corner from Bryant Park. Accessibly close to everything we wanted while traveling with children ages 10 and 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Best Western Herald Square for 4 nights over the July 4th holiday. It's a great location - walking distance to the subway, Broadway & Times Square. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My father, my sister and I stayed 2 nights at this Best Western in New York city and it was a great experience! Rooms are clean, well decorated, comfortable and cozy (even tho a bit too small...we didn't have much storage and we didn't have a freezer). Breakfasts - in which you get many good choices - are included so it makes the experience very convenient. The location is also very convenient since you are pretty much close to everything and at two steps away from 5th avenue.

The most memorable thing to us was however how professional and cool the staff was: We actually had a misadventure which started by a police agent who unfairly gave us a parking ticket, cause we were apparently not supposed to be parked in front of the hotel during the few minutes of our check in. The front desk staff witnessed it and one of the lady wrote us a letter for us to contest our ticket, telling that it was an unjustified one. It was so nice from her and it happened to be so helpful since we went to the office of New York - where we can contest tickets - and we were proclaimed NOT GUILTY! Thank you guys you're the best!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.