We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, particularly for Penn Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #119 of 449 hotels in New York City
dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, particularly for Penn Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is an easy walk from Penn Station. Price for seniors is excellent and room is more than adequate. The hotel is well managed, the rooms are clean and modern, and the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. I skipped the crowded breakfast and got a good meal at the Jerusalem cafe across the street.

This is a good overnight stay--not the kind of room that I would want for relaxing, but excellent for business and other out and about stays.

Room Tip: Aim for higher floor--no sound issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.We are proud of our staff and it is great to hear that they are delivering excellent service and providing superb cleanliness guests can expect while staying with us.

Our location is very convenient and we have easy access to many businesses. . Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    186
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
167
150
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a room at the highest floor, the 17th. The view from the room's floor to ceiling window was great; a prober city view with some skyscrapers and old buildings of NY. I've heard rooms in NYC are tiny but I couldn't say that from Best Western Premier Herald Sq. I really liked the modern rooms and photo canvas paintings on the walls. The heating worked well although it was freezing out-side. They even served yogurth at breakfast which I though isn't a standard in US hotels. Location couldn't be better, walking distance to Time Sq., Empire State Bldg., Macy's, Desigual store, Rockefeller Ctr and subway stations.

Room Tip: Higher floor's have better view. I think we had room no. 3 on the 17th floor and it came with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted that you were able to utilize some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer.

Thank you for putting these nice comments in your review " I've heard rooms in NYC are tiny but I couldn't say that from Best Western Premier Herald Sq. I really liked the modern rooms and photo canvas paintings on the walls".

Thank you again and we hope your travels bring you back to the Best Western Premier Herald Square,NYC again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last week in the middle of the polar vortex! Location-wise, it is superb! Just less than two minutes walk to the 34th subway station. 3 minutes walk to Macy's and other shops. Great for walking to Times Sq and anywhere in midtown.

The room is rather small but furnishing is well maintained and quite comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also tiny and for a relatively new hotel, there are already rust stains on the ceiling. There's hardly any counter space for anything but we had drawers in the room to store our toiletries. Our room (603) faced the street which I was pleased with at the start but soon found we could hear everything happening on the street. Rubbish trucks and drunk guests at 3am was the worst. There's free wifi and breakfast which is great. Overall a good deal in a well located best western.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for sharing all these details and for your time. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable. I would like to apologize that our bath rooms toiletry space did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments into consideration during our next remodel.

Also for your next stay and for your comfort we suggest you to book rooms on the rear side of the hotel, since they are much more quieter.

Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here one night for a quick NYC getaway. Staff was welcoming, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast standard fare. Good mid-town location. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about the Best Western Premier Herald Square, NYC "Nothing negative to say about this hotel. Would stay here again". I'm so happy you found our rooms to be very "clean and comfortable" and that our "Staff was welcoming".

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My mate and I stayed here purely based on location and was not disappointed! An easy walk to Macy's, Empire State Building, Time Square. Small cafés and pubs are located close by if you don't want to venture too far to eat at night. The complementary breakfast included in the cost of the room is great and caters for most diets. The bar located within the complex is small but the service is great and a nice way to wind down after a hard day of sightseeing. The rooms are small and wouldn't recommend a room on the lower floors street side as it is noisy. We were on the 4th floor, but other than that, no complaints. Clean, great wifi access and great bathroom for a small room. The staff were friendly and when there was an issue with our transfer service to JFK airport, the day we were checking out, they could not have done enough to help us. I am sorry I didn't get the guy on receptions name to thank him, but he went above and beyond especially as we had technically checked out of the hotel! Would definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your Mate enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We are proud of our staff and it is great to hear that they are delivering excellent service and providing superb cleanliness guests can expect while staying with us.Our location is unsurpassed and we are please that our location met your expectations.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel was easy to locate. Check in was fast. Lobby small but comfortable. Coffee available upon arrival. The room was small but very clean, decorated nicely, and comfortable bed. Breakfast is a bonus!!! Everyone was nice to us. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Herald Square,NYC! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and its services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My gf and I stayed at this hotel the last weekend in January of 2014. It was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat! 5 minute walk to Times Square, 10 minutes to Grand Central or Penn Station. We will definitely stay here when we return in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.