We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic NYC bar unlike any other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dead Rabbit

The Dead Rabbit
30 Water Street, New York City, NY
646-422-7906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“fantastic NYC bar unlike any other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

visited this bar in sept 2013 with my husband while over on a trip from Ireland.
cocktails were fansastic. the place was buzzing!
DJ was fanastic and the bar was outstanding
fabulous concept and with the guys all the best.
I have been ranting and raving about the Dead Rabbit since I came home and hope to return very soon,
a must visit bar for any one in NYC

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crazy cocktail list, great Guinness pours, good Irish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited with friends on a Sunday afternoon, and only saw the Taproom. Was pretty busy considering the time and day, and actually waited longer than I'd have liked to have our drink orders taken. Only one bar tender - they obviously hadn't expected such a crowd. Anyway, that aside, my Guinness pour was outstanding, my wife's Irish coffee had a nice strong shot of whiskey, and the bangers and mash was AMAZING. Decor and ambience are nice, but the place is pretty narrow. The bar is pretty long to compensate, but we got one of the few places more than two people could sit and speak with each other comfortably. Also, the benches around the table were too high for my wife and our friend to place their feet on the floor. Still recommend this place, though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great new bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The drinks were really good and unique. The ambiance is great and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Be careful though, the drinks are strong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were upstair having cocktails in the early hours of the morning. Live pianist on a very old piano playing rag time jazz and cocktails in tea cups. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beer bar on first floor but go to the second floor for great drinks. Might have to wait a minute while the surly doorman finds you a table.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dead Rabbit also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Dead Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dead Rabbit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.