We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanilla

Manzanilla
345 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY
212 255 4086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,985 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Entrance is on 26th St between Park & Lexington
Transit: 6 train to 23rd or 28th Street F or M train to 23rd Street N or R train to 23rd Street
Description: Nouveau Spanish
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The tapas and main courses were very good and the service both times we went was excellent and very friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Barcelona in NYC ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came here on the 20/12 and booked before we arrived to nyc.. Was one of the top few tapas on open table and we were not disappointed.

Really pleasant and relaxing place to sit and graze at your leisure like your in barca. Menu was short and sweet so not too overwhelming and easy to choose. Good selection of mains tapas and other interesting bits... We went for the crab and avocado on rye bread, scallops in orange and ginger (cold) meat croquettes , and fish of the day for mains. All top notch.

Drinks were expensive but food good value

If you like tapas , don't hesitate to come here - Spanish beers on tap too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spanish Party at our table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

For a party of 3, the booth was highly comfortable, servings were substantial plus well presented dishes that created a party atmosphere for an enjoyable two hour dining experience.

The octopus was outstanding, the charcuterie was tops --- the branzino with tomato powder was terrific. The roasted potatoes as a side was highly flavorful and we fought over the last few morsels. Rice pudding with cotton candy or caramelized apple were worth the calories.

Excellent wait staff --- highly involved. Priced properly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant, but the food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had an early dinner with friends who wanted to order from the tapas menu, so we didn't try any of the main dishes. The restaurant is lovely and the hostess and staff were delightful and very professional. The tapas were not very interesting and had none of the sharp tastes of tapas in Spain. They were more like conventional appetizers and seemed more french influenced than spanish. The cured scallops failed all tests, and were an insult to the taste of fresh scallops. the fluke crudo were ok, but I can't support the Trip Advisor raves on this dish. I plan to go back and ignore the tapas and try the main courses. Will skip the desserts which were rather conventional.Stay tuned for the next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Live in the neighborhood and am happy to have finally tried this place. Sat at the bar with a friend for drinks and a few bites. Nice menu, drink selection and decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manzanilla also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Manzanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.