We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of old St. Barths” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotte

Cocotte
110 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
212 965 9100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cocotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Basque
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A touch of old St. Barths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dinner on Friday night, November 1, was very much worth the wait for a table. Raphael, head waiter, graciously served us a chilled bottle of water as we were introduced to him and then helped in the selection of a great, "spicy" red wine for drinking during our wait for a table. Conversation was animated and lively amongst ourselves and with others also waiting. The high tables along one wall, shared by guests sitting on stools, was reminiscent of the French concept of table d'hôte, and the intimacy of this small space brought to mind memorable nights in Parisian Left Bank cafes, stumbled upon unexpectedly. Conventional tables, close by each other along the other wall, allowed for exchanges among guests about what they were eating . . . as well as general exuberance fueled by discovery of this unique and very special place (designed by a St. Barths architect, dining in the space brings to mind the simple, friendly, unpretentious island of 30 years ago). The straightforward menu choices were perfectly prepared and savored. Finally, let me add that Sebastien, the owner (I believe), chatted with us after dinner . . . confirming for us the unmistakable grace and "style" in presentation, quality, and hospitality that we found throughout the evening -- earmarks that will draw many repeat diners. The ambiance, design, food, staff, and service combined to create an evening that will be happily remembered for a very long time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    32
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Small Place - Huge Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The place is small but perfectly quaint, the plates are just as cute and the flavor and variety is HUGE - all together it made this experience perfectly amazing! The atmosphere is cozy and the staff makes sure you are comfortable. The service was the best I have ever had....anywhere. They were happy and energetic about the food, wine and the people. Going down as a special spot in my book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Intimate, convivial Soho gem. We went for lunch at noon and were the only people there at first, but within 20 minutes the restaurant was buzzing. Our waiter was excellent, striking just the right balance between quick-witted friendliness and discretion. We split 4 small plates between the 2 of us: the salted cod with mashed potatoes (brandade de cabillaud), lentils with bacon and shallots, cocotte of chicken breast and potatoes, and a tortilla. Everything was delicious, and we left feeling full but not stuffed. With excellent food, a well-edited wine list, and its French bistro atmosphere, this is a gem of a restaurant, and one we'll return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“food & wine excellent. service even better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

incredible inventive tapas-style french cuisine with basque twist. and an equally impressive (and very reasonable) wine list. within 1 minute of walking in i was poured 3 wines to try while i wait for the other half of my table to arrive. beyond the unassuming and on-the-house wine flight that started off the evening, the staff was warm and service impeccable from start to finish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsund, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a fantastastic restaurant. Innovative food and wine at best value prices. And the staff make you feel very welcome. We have been here twice, the first time just after the operning in November and the second time last week. Our best food experiences in New York City. We are going back the next time we visit,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotte also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cocotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.