We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Irish Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg Room

The Keg Room
West 36th Street, New York City, NY
212-643-1400
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lively Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

With the cold winter storm in New York City, finding a spot close by the hotel reduces the exposure to the brutal conditions outside. The Keg Room is just a block from our hotel, so we've been there twice. The wait staff is very friendly, and they remembered us on our second visit. The TV screens are also set on sports stations, and the bar specials are good. It wasn't as busy as other pubs we were in, but it's the only one we've been back to -- that should tell you somhing about the atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    59
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel nearby and dined twice in the keg room. Both times food was first class and very friendly service including the boss who came over and introduced himself the first night. Great quality pub food. Will return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Holy Lamb Shank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Fell right off the bone, incredibly good. Nice selection in UK brews too. If you would like to catch a game on TV, enjoy a lively bar scene or want a comfy corner (Ask for the count your blessings corner) this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
1 review
“A great bar for food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this bar twice during our 5 day trip to New York. The Keg Room is a large bar and always had a big crowd inside whenever we passed.
The food was some of the nicest and reasonably priced food around and the staff service was excellent. The management were really helpful in organising a taxi for us to the airport too in rush-hour friday evening traffic. Easily recommend a visit to anyone wanting to watch any sports matches and/or have some great food or drink.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Contemporary Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just happened to stumble upon this walking to Penn Station, it was the 1 year anniversary, free champagne and Hors d'oeuvre, we decided to stay for a pint. The owner Mary was walking around and stopped to greet us, nice touch. I will definitely come by again to try out the food. The decor is great, roomy, lots of TV's, I counted over 20 at the bar alone as they are hung double sided so they can be seen from both sides, a brilliant idea!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Room also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Keg Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.