We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service and good wine. Not the best steakhouse I've been to in New York but up there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strip House

Strip House
15 W 44th St, New York City, NY (Midtown)
(212) 336-5454
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Strip House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,134 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 5th & 6th Avenues
Transit: Bryant Park (B, D, F, M, 7), Times Square (1, 2, 3, N, Q, R, 7, S), Grand Central (4, 5, 6, 7).
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and good wine. Not the best steakhouse I've been to in New York but up there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The welcome at the restaurant was warm and friendly and when were quickly taken to our table. The waiter was very helpful and was useful with his recommendations. I ordered the bone-in fillet which was very tasty. I've previously ordered the same steak in STK and received a burnt piece of meat even though I ordered medium-rate, this was not the case here. The sides as an accompaniment to the steak hit the spot. I did really enjoy the food at this place, however, it didn't leave the same impression as Wolfgang's did but that's is a very hard impression to beat! Definatley would recommend as a quality steakhouse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    68
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night to eat and i was not impressed. My steak was cooked perfectly however, it over seasoned and covered in salt. I might of had four bites it was that bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Tender steak, great atmosphere, some sides lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a filet, which was fork tender and well seasoned. My companion had a NY strip, which he said was the best he ever had. the duck fat potatoes were underwhelming, and the green beans extremely salty. The Bernaise sauce for the asparagus was fabulous, as was the Cheescake (HUGE portion).

The atmosphere was interesting. and the staff extremely attentive and pleasant.

For the price point, the sides were a little disappointing, but otherwise an excellent meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great steak, don't forget the chocolate cake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

One of the best steaks I have tasted in a while. Great service, beautifully decorated restaurant with plenty of atmosphere. I went with my boyfriend on our first night in NYC. It was the only night we'd be alone as we had friends arriving the following day. The steak was truly amazing and the dessert topped it off, 24 layer chocolate cake is not to be missed!! Make sure you leave room as is huge!! Really great little restaurant, highly recommended and hope to return one day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had dinner here on Sunday and we really loved it. We had a spacious table, (not always a given in NY), a wonderfully friendly waiter, and the dinner was perfect. The steaks are just great. Mine was prepared with plenty of cracked pepper, which I was surprised I enjoyed as much as I did. Just loved it. The sides, wine, onion rolls, everything, was wonderful. It is pricey, but if you can, it is worth it. The menu is on line so there are no surprises. This is a truly wonderful place for dinner if you are looking for a quiet, classy, out of the way place. Not a tourist trap at all. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strip House also viewed

 

Been to Strip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.