We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best veggieburgers anywhere, period!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otarian

Otarian
8th 56st, New York City, NY 10019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #730 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best veggieburgers anywhere, period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Sometimes, vegetarians just want to chill out over a burger in a casual place. This place lets us do that, within a stone's throw of Central Park. just the place to fuel up before strolling in the park. Lots of choice of burgers and other veggie dishes. If you are veggie (or even if not) check this place out when in New York!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful veggie options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is a hidden gem! I ordered the Tex-Mex burger with sweet potato chiplets. Chiplets I came to learn are fried sweet potato sticks. No exactly french fries, but not sweet potato wedges either. They were yummy and not greasy. The veggie burger patty was tasty. The BBQ sauce had the right amount of kick and tang. The other offerings looked good also-- soups, lasagna, sandwiches.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ethical and vegetarian 'fast food'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We found Otarian by accident and I am so glad we did. They have a good, but not big, selection of vegetarian fast/comfort & healthy food. This is one of the few places that manages to serve up a selection of veggie burgers which are all unique and tasty and even better manage to do so using locally sourced produce. I love the way that the decor is all recycled. You must try this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is one of those little-known places which is basic on the decor and seating but has its own charm and food which is not fancy but incredibly tasty and a bit unusual. Not a vast menu, but enough to satisfy most tastes, as long as you aren't looking for non-veg. They also have a low-carbon footprint, buying local as much as possible. Worth supporting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

According to me, this is the best vegetarian place in NYC. They have a really good menu, do try this place out. I will definitely visit again just for Otarian :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otarian also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Otarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otarian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.