We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch for whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Smoke

Blue Smoke
255 Vesey Street, New York City, NY 10282
(212) 889-2005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Smoke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,180 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North End Avenue & West Street
Transit: We are located at 255 Vesey Street between North End Avenue and West Street (West Side Highway). You can take the E train to the World Trade Center stop and proceed west towards the West Side Highway. You can also take the 2 or 3 trains to the Park Place stop and walk west along Park Place to Murray Street. Continue across West Side Highway.
Description: Danny Meyer's Blue Smoke serves mouthwatering authentic pit barbecue using prime meats, fowl and fish, accompanied by farm-fresh seasonal vegetable side dishes and soulful home-style cakes and pies.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch for whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After a sight-seeing morning we made the trip here as a family of four. As parents we had a great meal (pork platter and rib sampler) along with beer flights but it was the kids' welcome that really made it worthwhile. When seated the kids got wikkisticks to play with and cut-out cookie dough to decorate. They ate a great meal (excellent menu choice) and cooked cookies were returned at the end of the meal.

It's not often you find a place that truly caters for the whole family but this is it. Really lovely staff were willing to share info and tips on the city too.

I'd reccommend the hazlenut beer instead of dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good BBQ for NYC, kind of pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been her a few times over the past 6 months. Being from the Midwest, we have so many styles to choose from. It certainly was a bit of a taste of home, and if I lived there it would satisfy my cravings; however, back home there are far more authentic cheaper alternatives. They do it justice quite well for being within a large northeastern city. I cannot say that the service or anything else were bad and if it wasn't for the fact that I come from a region famous for BBQ to compare it to, I would give it 5 stars. Certainly worth a visit if you are in town and need a BBQ fix.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good barbecue, but on the expensive side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The beef ribs were really good but at that price I'd have expected a side to be included. I'd actually wanted the brisket but they'd run out (on a quiet Monday evening.) The corn bread was marginal. The service was good and eveyone was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas, Canarias, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and beer, but a little bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well prepared and generous ribs (I tried Kansas City's), a decent selection of craft beers (empire Nitro cream ale and 21 Amendment watermelon, wow!) and good service. This is one of the so called "NYC barbecue movement" pioneers and it is in the TriBeCa corridor soooo... their prices are the ones you expected with those features ($80/100 for two).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and even better atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Cool restaurant with great atmosphere.
We loved the Barbecue. The wine list was fabulous.
Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Smoke also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.