We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Symphony

Spice Symphony
182 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
212-545-7742
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spice Symphony is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 31st and 32nd st
Transit: 6 train to 33rd street and Park ave, R,Q,N,B,D,F,M trains to 34th street and Broadway.
Description: Modern Indian Cooking with a twist and Chinese with an Indian Accent”. We use only fresh local produce of high quality to ensure a healthy living. We use age old Indian spices that has sought to have medical advantages that is put together in concert by different chefs’ each with different skills / talents resulting in different flavors and colors of food from all regions in India. We bring to you coastal curries from Goa, Konkan, Karwar, Allepy, Madurai, Kolkata to name a few.Our food is fresh from the kitchen and we are a symbol of warmth and welcome. We are home, family and friends.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

we had an early dinner on the 19th , the food was good tasty and plentiful
he service was polite pleasant and attentive , we will recommend and be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    37
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An ideal restaurant for Indian and Chinese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have no regrets going to this fantabulous place for food.In a city like New York there are no less than 10,000 eateries registered at trip advisor itself and god knows how many more are waiting to be discovered. The menu clearly states, " if you didn't find your favorite dish talk to your server". The manager got some dishes prepared for us that weren't part of the menu according to our taste buds. I believe for thier food, hospitality and warmness, Spice symphony is fairly inexpensive and I would highly recommend this place to someone who wants to satisfy his Indian or indo-chinese taste buds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Solid Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Clean and chic setting. Polite and helpful staff. Excellent Indian cuisine.
Appetizer of Samosa and Chat were very good and not too oily.
Papdum and chutney of mango, fruit and cranberry very fresh and tangy.
Tandoori chicken is cooked to order so it adds time but worth the wait for freshness and tenderness. lamb Vindaloo spiced perfect and succulent.
Patek Paneer very tasty and fresh. Chicken Tikka Masala very fresh, not too oily, and spiced to perfection. of course, the Naan with garlic was perfect to swipe up the savory juices from the plate for delivery to our palettes. I think the name of the venus is a bit odd and almost inhibited my visit from occurring; needless to say, names can be deceptive. The owners should consider, The Lexington Indian House.....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This was the best ever indian food i've eat! Everything is freshly cooked when you order it! Excellent and a great service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Deserving Of Praise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After gorging ourselves in pizza and sandwiches for days, we came to TripAdvisor in search of something different, and stumbled upon Spice Symphony.

Thank goodness we did because it was one of our favourite meals from our 6 day stay in Manhattan. We walked in around 9 and were welcomed immediately with a table. A smaller restaurant, service was readily available at any second.

We've eaten Indian food many times, and this meal stands above many restaurants we've visited. Complex flavours that aren't overwhelming, in a casual, yet fine setting.

We had the Tikka Masala and Vindaloo, so we covered the spectrum of sweet to spicy, and it was all delicious.

Definitely worth a visit, regardless of what Manhattan neighbourhood you're staying in, and this restaurant lived up to the praise it has already received from other reviewers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Symphony also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Spice Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.