We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park

Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park
147 West 35th Street, Suite 1505, Roosevelt Island, New York City, NY 10044
(212) 204-8831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I hesitate to diss a memorial to such a monumentally important and admired person, but Four Freedoms Park let us down. The location has something going for it -- gorgeous views of Manhattan and Queens, barges and tugs moving up and down the East River, and a short but adventuresome cable-tram ride to and from Roosevelt Island. But the park itself is cold and uninspiring, and the organization that created and maintains it does nothing to draw in the visitor. No signage, no guide, no staff present at the site itself, nothing to tell why this site was chosen, why this design, what's the symbolic or architectural meaning of the allee of trees or the wall. You can buy the "dedication book" for $20, the woman at the entrance told us, but there's nothing else on hand. Want to honor and get a real sense of FDR? Save your time and effort for the memorial site in Washington, DC.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beatifull location , but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm just writing about the structure of the park and not about the meaning!
The location is great, it is in the south point of Roosevelt Island , a nice island located between Manhattan and the Queens. You can reach the island by TRAM taking it on 59st 2 Avenue. From the park you can appreciate the beatifull United States building, and in general a great landscape of Manhattan!!!
I personally don't like the structure of this grey park, too much imperialist style. Everything is grey and huge. There are very small trees. The hugest thing is the F. Roosevelt face located at the end of the park. During the summer the park is open until 8 p.m so you can really appreciate a great sunset.
At the end I suggest this park, especially to the photographers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views of Manhattan skyline -- not much to memorial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Took the tram ($5.00 rt) over to Rooselvelt Island Island on a cold but sunny January weekday. We were the only ones at the memorial. Not much to see or do, but the views of the Manhattan skyline are spectacular. Suggest going in the spring/summer when the linden trees are in bloom and bring your camera.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first visit to this new memorial. We took the F train to Roosevelt Island, and walked south about 10 minutes to the memorial (travel on the west side of the island, keeping the East River to your right). The memorial itself was huge; a large bust of FDR's head sits at the opening; on the back of that marble block is an excerpt from FDR's State-of-the-Union Address where he commits America to preserving the Four Freedoms. The day we went was cold and clear. We got great pictures of the Memorial as well as of the United Nations right across the river. For a real treat we returned to Manhattan over the Roosevelt Island Tramway that takes you right over the East River. We will return to this amazing site.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Cold Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Caught the tram over from the bottom of the 59th St bridge, using the Mtro card to pay for the tickets. Had a good chat with the rep in the tourist info office. Worth the effort.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park also viewed

 

Been to Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.