We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant

Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant
508 Ninth Avenue (Between 38th and 39th street), New York City, NY
(646) 490-4803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stopped in for a quick bite on a cold Saturday afternoon. It reminds me of a nice clean pub in Ireland. Our waitress was friendly and quick. We had the potato skins and truffle mac and cheese. Potato skins were the best I've ever had, and if you like really cheesy mac and cheese, this is the place to go. My only minor complaint was our waitress informed us there was a free drink special, choice of two, nice, only problem it never arrived. Not a big deal, just thought it was strange to bring it up when I didn't see any signs for it and not deliver, being fair I didn't mention it either. Service was great otherwise and will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FIFE LAKE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT food and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was great from the server but the kitchen was a little slow. No worries as the 7 of us had fun people watching. We had a perfect steak, great fish n chips, awesome shepherd's pie, burgers, salad/soup. Everything was really, really good and not very expensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Irish Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good food, good service, clean bathrooms, good management
I think you'll be glad to find this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went here for dinner on Thanksgiving had a delicious meal, great service and nice atmosphere. Would recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best bar in that area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Decent food. Great bartenders. Ask for Markus, Barry or Tina.
They really understand the business and always take care of the loyal followers. Huge TV's and decent atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.