We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First 5 star we have ever given” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #31 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“First 5 star we have ever given”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Possibly it is not wise to share how truly amazing this property is. Or to tell other travelers the staff is friendly, smart and caring. The location is so well located too like a center point of everything in NYC. And the rooms are quiet, very well designed and using quality materials. And really all this with rooms with balconies too? We loved every minute and will be back, just hope it is not booked because of all the great reviews, including this one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello BuddyDoogie-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown Manhattan, and that you were able to enjoy one of our upgraded rooms with an outdoor terrace.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    167
    39
    12
    1
See reviews for
297
146
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for work this week. ALL staff super friendly and helpful. Room amenities like full kitchen and glassed-in standing shower are excellent. Easy walk to Broadway, Time Sq, UN, etc. Only reason it didn't get a 5 is the antiquated heated/cooling system was still stuck in HEAT mode in May. NOT good for women of a certain age!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello WiWeezie

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our spacious guest rooms and service oriented team. My sincerest apologies about the air conditioning not working properly during your stay. We will be sure to have a member of our building services look into your specific room.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Residence is perfectly located along subway line 6 & E & M on 51st; very easy to cover most of centers of interest in manhattan. 15 minutes walking distance from time square along 48st.
Morton williams Supermarket located less than 5 minutes walking distance on 2nd AV/ 48st.
We had a studio for 4 people including kitchen (fridge, dish washer, microwaves, 2 hobs). We spent for 8 nights there.
Perfect to stay in NYC with teenagers (14 and 10 years) and let us the chance to have some diner at home after a very long day walking accross the city!
Breakfast is really good with fresh fruits, waffles... Salty menu varies from one day to another. Really efficient and friendly team in general.
That is a very good address to stay at NYC.
Quite expensive but service is there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello hleg31-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our centralized location in Midtown Manhattan close to many subway lines and local attractions along with our professional services oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently as part of a mini getaway. The hotel is very well located (east side near Grand Central). The lobby is basic, and there is no bar, but there are a few in that block. The staff was great. The room was huge--honestly, more than we needed, but better than too small! The wifi was free and worked well. The free breakfast was very good. Many hot and cold choices and the coffee was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Westportia-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our spacious guest rooms and complimentary Wi-Fi. Even though we do not have a bar onsite, I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy others next door and across the street and got to enjoy all that New York has to offer.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

First time at this hotel and will be staying here again next time in NYC. My son and I arrived early (about noon) and our room was not ready, but the front desk clerk took care of our bags for us and took our phone number so she could call us to let us know when the room was ready. Very friendly and helpful! We went to lunch at a little Italian place across the street from the hotel and by the time we had finished lunch we had received a call that our room was ready.

The room was good sized with all the amenities anyone could ask for. Have to add that the concierge and doorman were both just as friendly and helpful as the front desk personnel. The room was on the second floor and we were concerned about street noise while trying to sleep, but there was absolutely no noise or problems of any kind.

The "free" breakfast was very good with virtually anything one wanted provided. The dining room folks were also very friendly and worked hard to keep everything stocked and warm.

I did have two "niggling" issues. 1) There are only 2 elevators and the wait for one can at times be a little longer than one would like and 2) the room's bathroom was quite small with no exhaust fan. Still - much better than other NYC hotels that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Yankee07-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your early arrival experience was effortless and efficient. I am pleased that you and your son enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and complimentary hot breakfast.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Yes, definitively we will be back !
The room was nice, clean and with a view to the top of the Chrysler.
Staff made us feel at home.
The location is super !
Good complimentary breakfast.
There are a couple of good restaurants close to the hotel, also some nice shops.
Thanks !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Carlo P-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service oriented team was able to make you feel right at home.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The staff is absolutely wonderful!!
I'm delighted and definitively will be back!!
The front desk is very warm and helpful: they broke a $100 bill for me, made a second card/key (I've forgot mine in the room), gave me a late check-out, always with a sincere smile.
The doorman also was very cheerful and ready to help.
I loved the housekeeping: they never tried to enter my room while I was in (the guest feels at ease) and everything was very clean.
And more: never were I disturbed by the vacuum cleaner noise (I have no idea how that is possible!)
The breakfast was quite crowded but no big deal since we have kitchen in the room. I have to point out that the attendant, a lovely young lady, even being super busy, interrupted what she was doing to grab a tray for me in the kitchen!
Really, the staff go the extra mile!! There's a very hands-on Assistant Guest Service Manager, Ms. Nykia Griffith, that is very attentive and helpful.
The wi-fi connection was excellent, fast and steady the whole time.
I definitively recommend. I travel a lot but this is the first evaluation I write because they really deserve it.

Room Tip: I took the corner studio with balcony and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Owner at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Dpfcarla-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our service oriented team from the housekeeping room attendants to Ms. Griffith our Assistant Guest Services Manager.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott(R) in Manhattan. Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio and one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space and views of the Chrysler Building. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a generous fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.